We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and close to city center and atraction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very clean and close to city center and atraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room is very nice and big, comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, breakfast was excelent many coises, stay here only for one night on my way from London to Edinburgh, within walking distance to almost all the city attraction, so close to the train station, Stay on August 2013, the hotel overal was exelent, should recomend this hotel

Room Tip: The view from the room quit nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendra-Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel convenient.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    822
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
544
963
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights. York is a great way to see English history from the Roman baths to Viking civilization to castles and museums. Don't forget the chocolate tour either.

The hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was not quite what we had become accustomed to at the other hotels, but we ate and had a great time. The location is only 3-4 blocks from where most of the sights are located. We happened to be there for the British Cycling championships and that was a great treat.

We would go back to York and would stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a lovely time in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A nearly new hotel in a great location within the city walls. Rooms were large and very clean and tidy, ours had a double bed and a sofa bet that whilst not needed for sleeping provided a comfy space to sit. Breakfast is self service, food plentiful but could have been hotter and took some time to replenish - we gave up on the baked beans. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, the young man who greeted us also recommended a lovely Italian restaurant and booked for us getting us in even though they were very busy. A couple of niggles: the NCP car park recommended for parking costs £17.50 for 24 hours and although you get your ticket validated by the hotel on checkout we still had to pay £10.30; our room was at the back so was lovely and quiet, rooms at the front overlook a nightclub; and finally, the directions to the hotel are not foolproof - you are better looking up how to get to Micklgate Bar from where you enter the city - we obviously came in on a unfamiliar route as we got very lost!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsK-J149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the car parking. We are currently in the process of updating our website to make this information clearer for our guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (July 8 2013 - July 10 2013)

The service from this place was fantastic. We received an email asking our time of arrival. I told them that it will be around 12pm knowing that i may not be able to check in until 2pm but on arrival, a room was quickly found to get my sleeping son into bed. Later, the staff were able to get a room across the hall for our parents without any problems. Staff were great to show us where all the sights were and loved a chat when we sat at the bar.

The room was modern, clean and had black out curtains!!! There was a nightclub across the road but we couldn't hear a thing.

Breakfast was ok, Had all the things one would want for breakfast but I would have preferred something more healthy. The other downfall would have been the food I ordered from the bar. It appeared slapped together and old. Maybe an upgrade in your menu or chef would do the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner. Please be assured that we
take all feedback very seriously and this information will be useful to us when deciding what to offer in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived at the Hampton hotel and straght from the start nothing was a trouble quick check in and very clear, room was perfect very clean and well oppointed, breakfast was excellent so much choice and loverly food, bedding and facilities were also excellent would use these again, and certainly recommend without hesitation..10/10

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed your breakfast and found check in very easy.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for one night, mixing meeting business contacts with a visit to York Races. It's very conveniently located close to the railway station and in easy walking disctance of most of York's central attractions.

The "by Hilton" in the name doesn't really seem to mean too much as the feel of the place is quite a bit different to a typical Hilton. That's not a bad thing, just different - bit more like a modern, good quality, budget hotel. And it's certainly modern - nice open feel about the place.

Staff very helpful on arrival and throughout.

Rooms are perfectly good - I was on the top floor and got a decent view our of my window. Not a lot of storage space so perhaps not great for a long stay. Bed was comfortable, bathroom and bedroom nice and clean.

Breakfast is buffet style - not a brilliant choice but certainly adequate and decent quality.

Perhaps a little expensive for what you get, although York's not cheap at the best of times and certainly not on race days. Would consider for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I also hope you had a sucessful time at the Races!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Good location but pretty standard hotel. Room small especially with a guest bed out and dark with little room for storage. Housekeeping and breakfast staff friendly but hotel lacks atmosphere. Breakfast was a quite choatic so by day 3 we went down before showering to avoid what we encounted on day 1. Breakfast was OK but that is about all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing