We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped hotel at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durris, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Well equipped hotel at reasonable price”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were taken in by the promotional hype assuring us of the warmest welcome. Maybe Hilton haven't fully understood the importance of a smile, good eye contact and clear communication at reception in conveying warmth. However, once over that disappointment, we found the hotel very clean, well equipped with free wifi and printing services, a good breakfast included in room rates and a comfortable bedroom with efficient shower. Windows are sealed, but the air conditioning was pretty efficient. It is conveniently placed for railway station and York's many attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the welcome at Reception. I am sorry that on this occasion we faily to provide you with the warm welcome you were hopeing for. Please be assured that we take feedback regarding the team very seriously and we will work closely with the team to ensure that all of our guests are made to feel welcome.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    853
    201
    33
    17
See reviews for
590
1,029
84
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Location is ideal for the railway station and parking nearby is good value with the hotel discount. Found the room to be very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Like the free Wifi and the breakfast was excellent, if a little hectic. Having stayed at a number of York hotels I find this one to be one of the best for value, comfort and cleanliness....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice staff, very nice rooms, and breakfast , very clean rooms and smell very fresh . the hotel has the look of a good Scotish woman with a touch of Italy and England very classy . Lots to do in york Will go back to hotel if back in york .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and it's 'classy' look!. I was also pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was very impressed with the Hampton, York City Centre. Service, Room, Bar, Location, you name it, it was perfect. In fact the only thing not perfect was the scrambled egg at Breakfast :-) Everything else was top notch, new, clean, and perfect. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the scrambled egg, we will certainly look into providing an alternative product for the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

read some of the reviews about this hotel before we went, must say that the room myself and my husband had and also the one my son and his partner had were of a very high standard.our rooms were situated towards the back of the hotel with a view of the "York eye". the room itself was very clean and comfortable and very quiet, the bathroom was very modern i particularly liked the fact that the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion and hand wash was provided not in small travel size bottles but in wall mounted containers, i do not know what the brand of these products was but suffice to say they were very pleasant to use. breakfast appeared to be a little chaotic but if people were patient then everyone managed to get a table be it in the actual dining area or in the bar area, i will admit the reviews saying the tables were too small to seat 4 people comfortably were correct, although with some "juggling" we managed to eat together. more staff to clear away would help with this problem or some area where guests could place their own plates etc would be a good idea. the breakfast itself was very good, plenty of choice and fresh supplies regularly topped up. the hotel was only a few minutes walk from the busy centre of York. all in all a very enjoyable stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a lovely time in York.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding breakfast. We are constantly reviewing the service and products we provide, so this information will be extremely useful to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room is very nice and big, comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, breakfast was excelent many coises, stay here only for one night on my way from London to Edinburgh, within walking distance to almost all the city attraction, so close to the train station, Stay on August 2013, the hotel overal was exelent, should recomend this hotel

Room Tip: The view from the room quit nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendra-Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel convenient.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights. York is a great way to see English history from the Roman baths to Viking civilization to castles and museums. Don't forget the chocolate tour either.

The hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was not quite what we had become accustomed to at the other hotels, but we ate and had a great time. The location is only 3-4 blocks from where most of the sights are located. We happened to be there for the British Cycling championships and that was a great treat.

We would go back to York and would stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a lovely time in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing