We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Clean and bright located in a quiet York Street this is a fine example of how hotels should be.
Big comfy bed, decorated well, big TV with freeview and an OK bathroom. Free WiFi included with good speed.
Breakfast is self service and was fine for me. Have cups to allow takeouts of drinks which was a good if you want to check out and take a coffee with you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read you had a good stay with us, and appreciated the free WiFi and other bedroom ameneties.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    803
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
530
943
79
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

A well situated modern hotel close to restaurants and the city centre. Ideal for shopping. The bedrooms were well designed and the shower was particularly good. The blind broke as we woke on our last morning which I reported to reception. Wifi was available though out the though the reception on my mobile phone was poor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a good shopping trip, and liked the hotel and appreciated the free WiFi. Please accept my apologies regarding the broken blind, and thank you for bringing it to our attention when you checked out so that we were able to fix it for the next guest.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before when it had just opened. We returned this year for a weekend break including the Christmas markets and shopping. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the city centre and is value for money. All the usual facilities, tea ad coffee, internet, en suite, gym with bar open till late and full English breakfast. As the hotel gets busy there is no option to order different foods than those displayed at breakfasts or example it's scrambled egg you can't choose fried or poached but those small things didn't matter to us. The cleanliness of the hotel and he location are perfect for a short break

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcoyne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I'm glad you had a good time at the Christmas Markets.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute stroll from the city centre. The staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel spotlessly clean and modern. It was quiet at night despite a couple of bars/clubs opposite and we were not disturbed at all. The breakfast area is well stocked and has everything you could want...lots of choice, hot and cold options and the breakfast host - dark haired young man - was helpful and cheery.

We will definitely be staying at the hotel when we visit York again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyF1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and was really pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. It was also really pleasing to read you had a good nights sleep, which is extremly important to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in early December and the city centre hotel was pretty full. It is essentially a good hotel in most respects but badly let down by the quality of the breakfast.
Good things:
-The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with modern clean bathrooms. Plenty of tea & coffee provided in the room. They are mostly quiet and you can't really hear your neighbours unless they try hard ( but see my further comments on this below).
-The staff were all friendly and clearly due their best to ensure guests were well looked after.
- There is a reasonably well appointed bar and also a 24 tuck shop by reception. York is full of excellent characterful pubs, so we didn't make use of the hotel bar.
- The location is very good. It is easy to reach by car. 5-10 minutes walk from the Minster. Lots of restaurants (and cafés) nearby.
-Parking is fine. There is a designated area outside the hotel to unload and an NCP carpark a few hundred yards away which offers a discount to hotel guests. Remember to get your ticket stamped.

Bad things

Only one - the breakfast, which was truly dreadful and frankly to be avoided. The ingredients used were if very poor quality. Watery squash from a vending machine instead of fruit juice. Weak tasteless coffee. Tinned instead of fresh fruit salad. Cheap sausages (no animal harmed in their making). Funny tasting scrambled eggs. Stale buns and bread. The pancakes were obviously microwaved out of a packet and tasted like pieces of cardboard. The only redeeming item was the bacon, which was, strangely, quite ok. On the second morning we simply made bacon sandwiches with toast and they went down perfectly well. On balance, don't bother with breakfast. There are lots of cafés nearby serving very good breakfasts.

Other observations:

The hotel is medium priced and attracts commensurate clientele. Make what you will of that.

During our visit there must have been a family party as number of families with ill-controlled kids (and adults!) stayed on our corridor. The kids ran up and down the corridor most of the evening and went in and out of the rooms clunking the highly sprung doors every 30 seconds or so. Chinese water torture. The adults compounded this by tipping up from the pub at 1am and chattering loudly outside their doors. This was not the fault of the hotel. We did complain but as they were full they were unable to move us to a quieter location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CW1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay. It was however disappointing to read you did not enjoy the breakfast we offer. We constantly review the products we provide and do take on board comments passed to us regarding the breakfast and we'll certainly look at reviewing the products you have mentioned in orer to ensure we provide a good quality breakfast to all of our guests. Please accept my apologies that on this occasion we failed to meet your expecations.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself and nine friends stayed here for two nights, 7th and 8th December. We had a warm welcome from the gentleman on reception and a very nice young man gave us maps of the area and told us about all the facilities in the hotel.
The rooms were immaculate and we had two very large comfy beds in our twin room.
The breakfast was buffet style and had everything that you could ever want to eat at breakfast time.
We found the Hotel ideally situated and an easy walk into the centre of town for shopping.
We passed lots of restaurants on our walk into town so you would never be stuck for somewhere to eat.
All in all a fabulous hotel and we would definitely return and recommend to other people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a fabulous stay with your friends and was really pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crosby, liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here to do our Christmas shopping. Hotel was spotless and could not be faulted. In ideal location for all of York's attractions. Toiletries, safe, hairdryer etc all included in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank catherine059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a nice Christmas shopping trip. I hope you managed to buy some loevely presents. I was really glad your liked all the facilities we provide in the room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit, provided you have enough money left after your last shopping spree!

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing