We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A short break”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

It was almost like we weren't expected on arrival! It took quite a while to check us in! And the receptionist was quite matter of fact and not warm and friendly as you would expect. Our room was at the side of the hotel on ground level, it was lovely, clean and had everything you could wish for. We slept very well, once we located the off button for the air conditioning! Although in summer months you may want it on-it was quite noisy. Breakfast was great, although very busy (we went at peak time) one of the male staff was particularly ignorant. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation. Although the club (which is situated directly opposite the Hotel entrance) did not bother us in any way when we were in the hotel, there was a fracas brewing, when we were returning to the hotel, that was quite a scary experience, as there is no where for you to escape to! and it was only 23:30! At least if your in possession of the facts you can make an informed choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - to avoid any upset with the night club morons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikdsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to read that you did not receive a warm welcome on arrival. Usually the team do get extremely good comments, so I was very disappointed to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expecations, and I will certainly be sharing your comments with my team so that they can learn from this.

I was glad however that you liked your room, and I do hope that you decide to stay with us again so that we can show you what a warm and friendly hotel team we have.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Happy New Year

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    840
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
557
1,006
82
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Agree with TA reviews.

Was a great choice
- 5 min walk to centre, beautiful walk across bridge
- good breakfast
- great service
- late checkout (12pm)
- gym
- they give you a voucher for the car park to ge ta discount

Only things I missed were: no bath tub in any room
i also found the bed a bit hard and none of the pillows were suitable - too high! I ended up using a small one we kept in the car ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

I was sorry to read you felt the bed was too hard and the pillows too high, we do get a lot of portive comments regarding the beds and the pillows, however I can appreciate that everyone has different requirements so it is difficult to meet everyones needs. We will however take on board your comments when chosing what pillows and mattresses to provide in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is situated in easy walking distance of the city attractions. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is plentiful and very good. No hotel parking but NCP within 100 metres. Rather disappointed to find no shaver point in the otherwise clean and modern bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and thought the location of the hotel was good.

Unfortunately we do not have shaver sockets in the bathrooms, however you may be pleased to know that we do provide adapters at Reception for guests to use.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Hampton by Hilton York is the kind of hotel where you have all you need, it is clean, modern, centrally located, well organised, friendly efficient staff. The room was quiet, on the lower floor, nice big window at the rear of the hotel,near the well equipped gym. The walk in shower was fab, the bathroom itself was very clean. We would go back in an instant. The breakfast had all you could imagine, from Crumpets to lovely scrambled egg, crispy bacon, tomatoes etc. Awesome experience all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weymouthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very helpful friendly staff. Spotlessly clean rooms with beautiful shower rooms and large showers. An abundance of fluffy white towels and a large screen television. Overall extremely comfortable although the mattress on the bed settee was rather thin. Lovely 'all you can eat' breakfast which we all really enjoyed. My only small criticism is that the juice was a sugary drink and not pure juice - really minor detail.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Having arrived to a relatively warm welcome (not the best) we were very pleased with our room, modern hotel with very good facilities.

We went out around York, wow, we never realised that there are so many hen parties!

York was lovely and lived up to all we expected. However,what didn't live up to what we were expecting was the noise and fighting from the club opposite. This really did spoil not only our nights sleep but our total experience. My wife wanted to go home - at something like 2am, not good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DGandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to read that you didn't manage to get any sleep due to noise from the night club opoosite the hotel. We have recently had additional glazing installed which has proved sucessful in eliminating the majority of noise, therefore I was genuinely concerned to hear your comments. I would be greatful if you could spare me a moment to e-mail me at victoria.burnham@hilton.com, and let me know which room you stayed in so that I can investigate this?

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed for 2 night at the end of November the room was very modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Very easy to get to the shops & bars. Breakfast was ok a bit of a scrum to get to anything but the staff were very pleasant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff pleasant.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,717 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing