We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My fiancée had won a hilton voucher so we came here for two nights in December.

The hotel is situated about 2 minutes walk from the main bridges going into York City centre, it is right around the corner from Micklegate, which is a good start for anyone wanting to go for a few drinks in York.

The room was new, clean and spacious, it had decent views considering everything is built at low level in York.
The hotel provide a buffet breakfast which isn't bad at all. Lots of choice for everybody.

We didn't really use much of the services the hotel had to offer, but the staff were friendly, always saying hello.

For the price, the hotel is really good.

We did find that it was a little noisy at points, with other guests doors slamming shut in the early hours of the morning, and due to its proximity to the railway station there was some noise from there.

All in all not a bad hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyDurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and thought the location of the hotel was good.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Happy New Year

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    803
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
530
942
79
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was fantastic after previously using Travel lodge's in York. Very welcoming at reception, Perfect location easy walking distance to city centre. Very spacious rooms and extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety to choose from. Would certainly use again and would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Happy New Year

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

It was almost like we weren't expected on arrival! It took quite a while to check us in! And the receptionist was quite matter of fact and not warm and friendly as you would expect. Our room was at the side of the hotel on ground level, it was lovely, clean and had everything you could wish for. We slept very well, once we located the off button for the air conditioning! Although in summer months you may want it on-it was quite noisy. Breakfast was great, although very busy (we went at peak time) one of the male staff was particularly ignorant. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation. Although the club (which is situated directly opposite the Hotel entrance) did not bother us in any way when we were in the hotel, there was a fracas brewing, when we were returning to the hotel, that was quite a scary experience, as there is no where for you to escape to! and it was only 23:30! At least if your in possession of the facts you can make an informed choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - to avoid any upset with the night club morons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikdsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to read that you did not receive a warm welcome on arrival. Usually the team do get extremely good comments, so I was very disappointed to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expecations, and I will certainly be sharing your comments with my team so that they can learn from this.

I was glad however that you liked your room, and I do hope that you decide to stay with us again so that we can show you what a warm and friendly hotel team we have.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Happy New Year

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Agree with TA reviews.

Was a great choice
- 5 min walk to centre, beautiful walk across bridge
- good breakfast
- great service
- late checkout (12pm)
- gym
- they give you a voucher for the car park to ge ta discount

Only things I missed were: no bath tub in any room
i also found the bed a bit hard and none of the pillows were suitable - too high! I ended up using a small one we kept in the car ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

I was sorry to read you felt the bed was too hard and the pillows too high, we do get a lot of portive comments regarding the beds and the pillows, however I can appreciate that everyone has different requirements so it is difficult to meet everyones needs. We will however take on board your comments when chosing what pillows and mattresses to provide in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is situated in easy walking distance of the city attractions. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is plentiful and very good. No hotel parking but NCP within 100 metres. Rather disappointed to find no shaver point in the otherwise clean and modern bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and thought the location of the hotel was good.

Unfortunately we do not have shaver sockets in the bathrooms, however you may be pleased to know that we do provide adapters at Reception for guests to use.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Hampton by Hilton York is the kind of hotel where you have all you need, it is clean, modern, centrally located, well organised, friendly efficient staff. The room was quiet, on the lower floor, nice big window at the rear of the hotel,near the well equipped gym. The walk in shower was fab, the bathroom itself was very clean. We would go back in an instant. The breakfast had all you could imagine, from Crumpets to lovely scrambled egg, crispy bacon, tomatoes etc. Awesome experience all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weymouthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very helpful friendly staff. Spotlessly clean rooms with beautiful shower rooms and large showers. An abundance of fluffy white towels and a large screen television. Overall extremely comfortable although the mattress on the bed settee was rather thin. Lovely 'all you can eat' breakfast which we all really enjoyed. My only small criticism is that the juice was a sugary drink and not pure juice - really minor detail.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing