We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice room enjoyed it alot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. South of the river bt very close to town and very quiet. Wonderful sleep in the afternoon. Nice breakfast to and very colourful in reception and the breakfast areas.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with information about what to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and enjoyed the breakfast. It was also nice to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had business in York for a couple of nights and I'd seen this hotel from previous leisure trips. Its location close to the train station was my main reason for booking as it's less than 5 minutes' walk away.

As one would expect from a Hilton hotel, customer service was of a high standard. Check-in was quick and efficient and all the important details were pointed out - the free wifi and the lounge/bar area!

The room was very modern, spacious and above all clean. A nice touch was the provision of at least six power sockets, including ones at each side of the bed for the all-important mobile phone charging. The bathroom was a little cramped but again spotlessly clean and with a good selection of towels and toiletries. Yes, there's also the essential for business travellers - an iron and ironing board!

Free wifi coverage was fast with strong signal in the rooms and public areas, enabling me to Skype my wife seamlessly from room to bar.

Breakfast was a buffet with a good range of sensible options, and well cooked too.

I'd heartily recommend the hotel for business travellers due to the good power and free wifi, but it's in an ideal location for general sightseeing as well. Within 5 minutes' walk you can be in the National Railway Museum, the Shambles or even a good way along the city walls. York Brewery is 75 metres up the road too if you've ever wondered how ales are made and have an hour to spare.

Travellers with cars beware: there's no onsite parking (common to a lot of hotels in York) and the nearby NCP car park's discounted rate is about £11/24 hours. If you're coming by public transport you can't do much better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and liked the room. It was also pleasing to read that you thought the room had everything a business traveller would need.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights over the new year 2013.
The staff on arrival were so kind and helpful and gave us a map of York.
Our room was lovely and had a massive walk in shower. The bathroom really could of done with a towel rail or something similar as after you used your towel there was no where to place them, in saying that, if you place your towels on the floor they replaced them. The bed was comfy and there was a big tv in the room. There was also a sofa in the room near the bed. Our hotel was 10 minutes walk to the town centre. We fully recommend the living room for food and drink, it's lovely and relaxed. The first night we was there we had a really good Turkish meal next to the hotel.
All in all excellent stay, excellent buffet breakfast with all you can eat and close to town, we would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mrblakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay over New Year, and that you liked the hotel.

With regard to the hook for towels, we do actually have them in all bathrooms, but I suspect you may not have noticed it as its on the wall by the door and can easily be missed. Hopefully this did not inconvenience you too much though.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked a family room for 1 night, we used loyalty points so I can't really comment on value for money.
The room was for 2 adults and 2 children (age 10 and 7) and was ample size for the night. Perhaps a little small for a longer stay. The sofa bed for the children was a bit uncomfortable, and they didn't sleep particularly well. I don't think it would be suitable for older or larger children or longer stays.
Very good customer service, excellent breakfast and clean facilities.
Only gripe was the car park, it was closed when we arrived when it should have been opened but we parked on the street for £2. Just had to move the car by 8am into the multi-storey.
You can get your car park ticket validated by the hotel which gives you a discount. We paid £9.50 for the whole day but did have trouble getting the discount applied. It was sorted eventually.
Handy location, easy walk to the train station in one direction and into the city centre in the other direction. About 10-15 minutes walk to Yorvik and probably about 5-10 minutes from the station and railway museum. Might have been quicker but we had a couple of tired children with us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmyroo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and liked the room. I'm sorry that the NCP car park was not open when you arrived as this was certainly not communicated to us. I am pleased however that you managed to find parking close by.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

the hotel is in an excellent central location and unlike other hotels in the city is also on a quiet back street so little external noise at night. the room was good but a little tight with the sofa bed down and could do with more storage space if a family is using it , probably ideal for a couple or single person. breakfast is good but the hot food choice could be a little wider and staff a little more helpful and effusive. Unlike some other brands they don't seem to offer a guaranteed best room rate so we had to book then cancel and re-book on the day to save £20 on the room rate which is a bit of a pain. i would recommend it for the location more than anything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and that you liked the location.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and the team. We appreciate all feedback we are given, and will certainly share this with the team so that we improve the service and products we offer for future guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel was excellent very near the train station and some excellent restaurants near by. Not far to the centre of York. We also had a wheelchair member in our group of friends who was more than satisfied with his room and the ease of access into and around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and I am glad that one of the members of your party found the hotel easily accessible for a wheelchair.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had booked using a third party booking agent and had been pre-booked into an accessible room, not ideal, we were moved without any hassle to a double room unfortunately this provided a lower ground floor room, and upon request were again moved immediately without any inconvenience to a much more suitable room. The rooms are clean and tidy, exceptionally well appointed for a hotel of this type, certainly far superior to other chains of affordable hotels. The only gripe would be the breakfast service which would be considered chaotic by some, however one is free to pick what you want and as much as you want, it is not enough of a problem to deter using the hotel.
The staff we met were excellent.
For non locals the hotel is to the rear of Micklegate, which is well known for 'partying' for younger people so at weekends there is the possibility of disturbance but that can happen everywhere; this brings plus in that it also provides a number of excellent real ale venues and eateries virtually on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for rooms to the rear
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortlover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and I am glad we were able to find you a suitable room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £86 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing