We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Decided to take my wife away to York for 3 nights as birthday surprise and spent hours on the internet reviewing the various hotels available. Because of the good reviews and central location, I decided on the Hampton by Hilton. It was a good choice with attentive, friendly staff and ideal as a quiet, comfortable and relaxing base for exploring a beautiful city. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanM667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you chose to stay with us for your wife's birthday surprise and I do hope she had an enjoyable birthday with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,777 - 1,783 of 2,500 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great hotel, with the only downside being no parking (but in a city centre who expects that).

Staff were welcoming and couldn't have been more accommodating. Admittedly the food in the bar area was limited, but there are so many great restaurants nearby, it isn't an issue.

Breakfast in the morning was free and very good too.

Room was clean and tidy and bed was comfy.

Overall a great stay and much nicer than the equivalent Premier Inn, which was the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel, and thank you also for your lovely comments about the staff.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. Very modern and staff were brilliant. Rooms were great, bathroom spotless and nice fixtures/fittings, no external noise, facilities spot-on and generally really a pleasant stay.

Would recommend to anyone needing a hotel in central York.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am pleased you liked the hotel and the staff will be delighted to read your comments about them.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Hilton's Hampton brand takes on Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express brands.
Location is excellent. Price £60 for a Sunday with Breakfast excellent.
No car parking so be aware. Restaurant facilities are limited.
Basically it's a nice 3-4star in a central location at a great price. End of story.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am pleased you liked the Hampton by Hilton product, and that you thought it was good value for money.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had one night here in july excellent stay. welcomed in and although the young girl on reception was training so took a little longer it was very warming and they made a fuss of the kids. The room was a typical hilton room with all the facilitys you need. it was alittle bit of a squeeze with the pull out bed for the kids but it was comfy.the hotel location is good 10 minute walk from the centre although your next too night clubs but they are far enough away you dont hear them. there is a multi storey car park just opposite which you get at agood rate if you mention at reception. the breakfast buffet was excellent with a good range and as much as you wanted which always goes well with the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyandmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I ws pleased to read that you had an enjoyable family break, and I was glad your kids liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Overall a very clean and well presented hotel. Double room was a good size with everything you would need inside, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and towels were changed daily. This hotel is in a great location; not too far away from the city centre with plenty of eating places nearby. Breakfast wasn't great and would recommend eating elsewhere for meals because there didn't seem to be a lot of choice for other meal times. Would recommend this hotel to other young couples and anybody else looking to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you liked the room and the bathroom.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations with regard to the meals we provide at the bar. We do only offer limited bar meals due to the fact that we are located within walking distance of so many lovely restaurants. We regularly reveiew the products we provide for breakfast and dinner, and will take on board your comments when deciding what to use in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The room was excellent (recently refurbished I think) Really my only complaints are the following: - air con in room a bit noisy, so difficulty getting to sleep - Wi-Fi in room unusable (slow and dropped out all the time) - I arrived late so didn't want to venture out so decided to eat at hotel bar (no restaurant). Not great food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you liked the room. Unfortunately during the time you stayed we were experiencing some technical difficulties with the WiFi, which were reported to our provider, and these have now been rectified. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I was also sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations with regard to the meals we provide at the bar. We do only offer limited bar meals due to the fact that we are located within walking distance of so many lovely restaurants.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,877 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £89 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing