We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you are not fussy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rather a laborious check in process and the reception staff tried to charge us extra for a Booking.com slip up. Didn't think the staff (overall) were particularly interested in guests, lots of disinterest and lack of action. Our room didn't get cleaned on the first night, reported this but no action taken, asked for clean towels never got them.

The food was less than average with an odd set up for breakfast, help yourself which is fair enough but the lay out meant one toaster was next to the kitchen in out door, the other next to the food queue, led to a bit of congestion. Tea and coffee awful, machine that spewed out various shades of horrible, even the hot water did not make good tea. Eating breakfast was like being sat in a canteen, set the table yourself, help yourself and to be honest sit with your dirty plates because the staff were that disinterested they didn't clear away the dirty until you left!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleysixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the services we provide, and your feedback is extremely important to us. Please be assured that the issues you have raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed last week as a little treat and really loved every second. The Hotel impressed us at the entrance it is spotless and the staff really friendly. we then went to our room and it was exceptionally clean , everything worked and you could tell the staff take a great pride in keeping it that way. After a very comfortable nights sleep we had a very good breakfast . York is a beautiful place and this hotel does it proud. We will highly recommend it. Thank you all. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your treat and I am really glad you found your room to be spotless. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to read your comments.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed last week and had the most fantastic time. The room was absolutely spotless ( well done to the housekeepers ) Every staff member we met was a great credit to the hotel . The location is great with fantastic places to eat nearby , if you can manage it after the fantastic breakfast. This Hotel takes some beating and we will certainly be back. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was lovely to hear that you found the hotel outstanding. The housekeeping team will be delighted to read that you thought the room was spotless.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We Stayed in room 518 in December, The Room was Spotless . PERFECT. Could not fault the staff . Housekeepers very polite and efficient. Breakfast was lovely something for everyone. Reception staff very polite and friendly. Try it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found the staff friendly. I am also glad that you liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Thought this hotel was great for the 'deal' we got. We had a great nights sleep, the beds were very comfy and even though we were at the front of the hotel, we couldn't hear a thing! The shower was lovely with great quality products in the dispensers.
There was a couple of issues, the shower head is semi attached so slightly harder to get a good rinse. You can't open the window for fresh air. The cutlery is placed so everybody touches the ends you are going to use.
But the room was spotless, the staff were fantastic and the breakfast was better than we thought it would be!
Will defiantly be back when I'm next in York!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank BizzyBee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had a good nights sleep. Thank you for your feedback regarding the cutlery. Unfortunatley the type of cutlery we use seems to have heavy handles which means that if they are placed the other way round, they tend to fall out and onto the floor. We have fed this issue back to the Hilton design team so hopefully this won't be an issue for future hotels.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed one night 1st February and have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Although check in wasn't until 2pm the Hotel had a room ready for us when we arrived to drop off our bags at 11am so we were in and sorted immediately. Room was more than adequate, very clean and comfortable. All Communal areas were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was brilliant with a selection that should please everyone. The location is perfect for exploring and very quiet. Excellent value for money and would not hesitste to recommend to anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyJG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found the staff friendly. I was also pleased that you were able to get into your room nice and early so that you could make the most of your time in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in January as a last minute booking. We couldn't fault the hotel one bit. The shower gel dispensers in the bathrooms are a brilliant idea. More hotels should take this idea on. The foyer, corridors and room were spotless and staff were hugely helpful. I would recommend this hotel over and over. We will most certainly be returning again in the summer :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil_vrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be spotless and found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £85 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing