We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Very close to the station and convenient for the shops, sights etc. My room was immaculate and had everything a guest could need. Breakfast is all laid out buffet style and you just help yourself. Only problem was, I was on my own and every time I left my table to get something else, when I returned to the table, it had been cleared away. I suppose it shows attentive staff but it was a little annoying! I would definitely stay here again, beats Premier Inn any day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiewoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found your room to be immaculate.

I am sorry that your table was cleared before you had finished your breakfast. I will pass on your comments to my Food and Breverage team in order to ensure they pay more attention in future.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent value hotel in a convenient location with immaculate rooms. We will use again when visiting family. The only problem we had was finding which car park to use and ended up going round the block a couple of times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratkinson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel and the rooms.

I am sorry you had trouble finding the car park. We do have information on our website and it is signposted from outside the hotel, however we will try to look into other ways of informing our guests of it's location in future.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Friendly hotel close to the station and sights. Comfortable room. Clean and a good shower room. Dispenser rather than individual toiletries but this saves waste. Bacon and sausage at breakfast a bit undercooked. As with Leeds Hilton tinned rather than real tomatoes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dzerbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay. I am however sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the services we provide, and your feedback is extremely important to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rather a laborious check in process and the reception staff tried to charge us extra for a Booking.com slip up. Didn't think the staff (overall) were particularly interested in guests, lots of disinterest and lack of action. Our room didn't get cleaned on the first night, reported this but no action taken, asked for clean towels never got them.

The food was less than average with an odd set up for breakfast, help yourself which is fair enough but the lay out meant one toaster was next to the kitchen in out door, the other next to the food queue, led to a bit of congestion. Tea and coffee awful, machine that spewed out various shades of horrible, even the hot water did not make good tea. Eating breakfast was like being sat in a canteen, set the table yourself, help yourself and to be honest sit with your dirty plates because the staff were that disinterested they didn't clear away the dirty until you left!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleysixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the services we provide, and your feedback is extremely important to us. Please be assured that the issues you have raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed last week as a little treat and really loved every second. The Hotel impressed us at the entrance it is spotless and the staff really friendly. we then went to our room and it was exceptionally clean , everything worked and you could tell the staff take a great pride in keeping it that way. After a very comfortable nights sleep we had a very good breakfast . York is a beautiful place and this hotel does it proud. We will highly recommend it. Thank you all. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your treat and I am really glad you found your room to be spotless. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to read your comments.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed last week and had the most fantastic time. The room was absolutely spotless ( well done to the housekeepers ) Every staff member we met was a great credit to the hotel . The location is great with fantastic places to eat nearby , if you can manage it after the fantastic breakfast. This Hotel takes some beating and we will certainly be back. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was lovely to hear that you found the hotel outstanding. The housekeeping team will be delighted to read that you thought the room was spotless.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We Stayed in room 518 in December, The Room was Spotless . PERFECT. Could not fault the staff . Housekeepers very polite and efficient. Breakfast was lovely something for everyone. Reception staff very polite and friendly. Try it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found the staff friendly. I am also glad that you liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.6 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing