We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Quiet town centre location, very clean and efficient throughout. Breakfast till 11am at weekends was a big plus! Staff very helpful and offer a bag storage service if you're not leaving immediately after checkout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel quiet and clean.

I am also pleased to read you made the most of breakfast until 11am and stored your luggage so you could make the most of your last day.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
556
1,005
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights including Valentine's Night. Perfect location, five minutes walk from the train station, five minutes into the centre. Room was very well appointed, clean and spacious. Had a problem with the sink which was rectified immediately. Staff all very helpful. Nice bar serving food and snacks. Breakfast was good, lots of variety. Great value for money. Will deffinately choose this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable Valentines weekend.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

In a quiet are so not really any noise at night.
Room was clean, tidy and big enough for us and 10 year old daughter. Comfy beds.
Very friendly, knowledgable and helpful staff.
Excellent breakfast choice and quality, did get a bit busy so had to eat in the bar area one morning but did not bother us, some looked at bit miffed!
Parked at nearby NCP and was at hotel rate so no problem there either.
Was a great place to use for a base when exploring the city.
Def recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel and the room. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Very close to the station and convenient for the shops, sights etc. My room was immaculate and had everything a guest could need. Breakfast is all laid out buffet style and you just help yourself. Only problem was, I was on my own and every time I left my table to get something else, when I returned to the table, it had been cleared away. I suppose it shows attentive staff but it was a little annoying! I would definitely stay here again, beats Premier Inn any day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and found your room to be immaculate.

I am sorry that your table was cleared before you had finished your breakfast. I will pass on your comments to my Food and Breverage team in order to ensure they pay more attention in future.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Excellent value hotel in a convenient location with immaculate rooms. We will use again when visiting family. The only problem we had was finding which car park to use and ended up going round the block a couple of times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratkinson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel and the rooms.

I am sorry you had trouble finding the car park. We do have information on our website and it is signposted from outside the hotel, however we will try to look into other ways of informing our guests of it's location in future.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Friendly hotel close to the station and sights. Comfortable room. Clean and a good shower room. Dispenser rather than individual toiletries but this saves waste. Bacon and sausage at breakfast a bit undercooked. As with Leeds Hilton tinned rather than real tomatoes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dzerbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay. I am however sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the services we provide, and your feedback is extremely important to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northyorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rather a laborious check in process and the reception staff tried to charge us extra for a Booking.com slip up. Didn't think the staff (overall) were particularly interested in guests, lots of disinterest and lack of action. Our room didn't get cleaned on the first night, reported this but no action taken, asked for clean towels never got them.

The food was less than average with an odd set up for breakfast, help yourself which is fair enough but the lay out meant one toaster was next to the kitchen in out door, the other next to the food queue, led to a bit of congestion. Tea and coffee awful, machine that spewed out various shades of horrible, even the hot water did not make good tea. Eating breakfast was like being sat in a canteen, set the table yourself, help yourself and to be honest sit with your dirty plates because the staff were that disinterested they didn't clear away the dirty until you left!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleysixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the services we provide, and your feedback is extremely important to us. Please be assured that the issues you have raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing