We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, setting new standard for budget hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent value, setting new standard for budget hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very good quality budget hotel, happily stay again. Staff couldn't do enough to make stay enjoyable. Left a day early but no fuss or extra charge. Makes other budget hotels look a little shabby. All fixtures and fittings good quality, bed comfy, shower excellent, very clean, very quiet. In room at back. Breakfast good. Although signs of budget hotel, the overall quality doesn't reflect that. Far better than some older Hiltons. All rooms same size so snug for families with pull down sofa bed filling room. Kids loved it. Wifi included with great connection.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFickleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    798
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
526
938
79
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a central location so an easy walk to some great restaurants, visitor attractions etc. For the price paid this hotel is excellent value for money, with lovely helpful staff. Breakfast is basic but ok and you can have it to take out if you gave an early start. Only negative and the thing that may stop us from staying here again is the bedrooms are far too hot and the air con ineffective.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York

It is nice to read that like the central location of the Hotel and found us excellent value for money. If you could advise me which room you stayed in via my email address qqytg_hampton@hilton.com i will ensure my Maintenance Technician investigate this further.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel.

Pros:
-Less than a 10 min walk to station and town
-Modern, clean and adequately sized
-Staff seemed friendly
-Has a 24 hour tray service (mainly just pizza though)
-Has a traffic light system notice for breakfast so you know when are the busiest times

Cons:
-Parking is terrible, no hotel car park so had to park in NCP 5 mins away, hassle when have luggage.
-Cooked breakfast was a joke, it was buffet service but they didn't do mushrooms/hash browns/fried eggs and the scrambled eggs weren't replenished enough.
-Located opposite a club which i imagine gets noisy at weekends
-Although its triple glazed, we could still hear motor bikes and bin men's vehicles at 6am, etc..
-Check in took too long
-Taps in bathrooms were fitted too far from basin so water spills onto the basin and not really into sink

Overall good for a budget hotel but would be better if they could sort out the some of the issues mentioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Gal1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. We are very restricted by what we can offer by our brand for the breakfast items but we do offer a fantastic selection of continental items. As we have no car parking on site we do try and offer the best solution we can by using the local NCP car park which is on the same street as the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Myself the wife and a couple of friends stayed at Hampton by Hilton in York 23rd march 2014
Was very pleased and couldn't have picked a nicer hotel ,It was very trendy and immaculate obviously due to the cleaning staff ,The staff was all very pleasant and helpful especially mike on reception . Breakfast was served between 6-10 am there was plenty to choose from and my cooked breakfast was very nice .would highly recommend and will Definateley be booking again soon.

Room Tip: Room125-126 ground floor very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York

I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed their stay and found the hotel clean and the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

As a family we travelled to York for a quick break. Hotel is ideally located, staff were very helpful and polite. Room was very clean and of a good size. Breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of choice. Parking is at the nearest NCP car park which is a stones throw away and once the hotel discount has been applied is very reasonable. For the price of the stay I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York

I am glad that you found the hotels location to your liking and enjoyed the cooked breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

2nd time at this a hotel staff cannot do enough for you especially the manager chris. All he staff are friendy and go out of their way for you The location is great, food tasty.rooms immaculate. Their is complimentary shower gel shampoo and hair conditioner, All I can say is I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank spoon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your 2nd review of our hotel.

I am glad that you found all the staff friendly and helpful. I was also please to read that you found the liked the bathroom amenities.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This new budget hotel is neat and well presented and close to the station, bus routes and a short walk to the city. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Quiet, even though close to transport routes. my thrird stay this year.
Positives: good sized well equipped rooms, nice to have York images in the pictures, adjustable office chair at the desk, good lighting for the workspace, plenty of power sockets, free wifi, laptop-sized room safe, iron & ironing board, inclusive breakfast, on-site 24-hour gym, available bar and a good range of meals - most have been very good.
Less positive: no biscuits (becoming a clear indicator of a budget hotel), a stick instead of a teaspoon (almost insulting), the twin I was in recently left little space for the chair between one bed and the desk, vegetables with my recent meal were old or poorly cooked or both.
Suggestions: take your own biscuits, collect a metal spoon from the breakfast area on route to your room, check out the wide variety of local restaurants like The Go Down in Clifford Street for some excellent meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room as there is a bit more space around the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you thought the staff were friendly and helpful. I greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. This is valuable so that we can improve our standards.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing