We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed with a colleague at the Hampton by Hilton York for two nights while attending a conference at the University of York at the end of March/beginning of April. We chose this hotel for its close proximity to both the station and the city centre - while it's true that the hotel is not the prettiest building from the outside, nor on one York's quaintest streets, the location was ideal and the interior of the hotel was very nice indeed.

When I checked in and heard that my room was on the ground floor I internally groaned as usually this means noise. However, I must confess I was not bothered by noise at all. My room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The water pressure in the shower wasn't great, and there was tea and coffee but no biscuits (!!) but other than that I can't complain at all. Free WiFi is always a nice bonus when travelling for business.

I made use of the small fitness room while I was here, and though at busier times you might have to fight over the two treadmills, one elliptical, one bike and a handful of weights, it was perfectly adequate and very clean. One very minor quibble: I stayed the Monday and Tuesday after the clocks had gone forward, and wanted to use the fitness suite at 6.30am (yeah, I know...). The fitness suite has a card-activated lock which must be programmed to allow entry at 6am when the fitness room opens. However, the mechanism still "thought" it was 5.30am so I couldn't get in. I popped upstairs to reception to query this, and their solution was to prop the door open for me. Well, fine, this enabled me to do my morning workout, but I hope none of the guests in rooms on the basement level could hear my elephant feet tramping the treadmill at that time of the morning! It was also a bit frustrating that the problem with the time-lock hadn't been fixed when I went back at 6.30am the next morning...hey ho.

We didn't eat any evening meals at the hotel, but we did enjoy our breakfast on both mornings - a help-yourself buffet arrangement with a good and plentiful selection of hot and cold options.

Finally I must mention the staff as they were all really polite and helpful during our stay. We had requested for a parcel of printed brochures to be delivered to the hotel for our conference attendance and panicked when it didn't turn up, but the hotel reception staff were fantastic and called us the moment it finally did arrive - thank you!

Room Tip: I would probably try and avoid the basement, especially when I am on the treadmill and the door is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Please accept my apologies for the issue you had with the fitness room door. This has now been rectified.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    849
    197
    33
    16
See reviews for
574
1,019
83
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
W.yorks
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here with family for a two night break.Rooms are very clean and spacious.Breakfast is buffet style with a wide choice to choose and is very good.The hotel is modern and staff very friendly.Next time we stay in York this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheYorkshiretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your tow night break, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Convenient location, excellent facilities, modern, clean and fresh. Especiallly liked the complimentary bathroom products; no on site parking but discounted NCP within a few hundred yards. The hotel staff very helpful; they recommended and booked an excellent local Italian restaurant. safe and accessible for business woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and I was glad to hear you enjoyed the Italian we recommended.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel located a short walk away from all the main attractions. lovely, modern and clean my only moan would be that the beds are uncomfortable but otherwise cannot fault the hotel. The car park is situated just down the road you have to pay but it's discounted.
We had small children in our party and they couldn't do enough to help us thank you.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxymini2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you liked the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay here . Compact rooms with good use of every available space . Staff are helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them . Varied selection of both hot and cold foods at breakfast . Would recommend and look forward to a return trip

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SwallowD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely hotel clean service spot on. Could not fault the breakfast. Would definitely go back. Parking across the road at n c p car park good discount don't forget to have your ticket authorized. Near enough to walk into city centre but far enough away not to be noisy.

Room Tip: Room 334 end room 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that youliked the location of the hotel. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and have to I could not fault this hotel.

It's modern and clean throughout with good sized bedrooms that have all the facilities you would expect from a Hilton hotel but at a very reasonable cost.

Yes car parking is an extra charge but it's discounted for hotel guests and the car park is less than 2 minutes walk away.

This hotel is ideally situated to see the city and is tucked away on a quiet street so you won't get any noise pollution to disturb your sleep.

The staff were lovely, very helpful and check in/out happened very quickly with no queues or delays. 24 hour bar and pizza plus snacks are available and are very reasonably priced. Breakfast was great and is buffet style and has plenty of choice and was all fresh and good quality.

Would I return, yes!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Katesc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing