We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a holiday in York, this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we cannot fault it.
The staff are professional , efficient and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean , rooms great with free wifi , television , safety deposit box and fantastic toiletries . Breakfast gave us a good selection.
This hotel is handy if your travelling by rail , a few minutes from the station and a pleasant walk in to the city . We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you decided to stay with us for a second time, and was delighted to read your enjoyed the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Visited York and stayed at this hotel on Sun 13th and Mon 14th April 2014.
I don't know when this place was built but there are no signs of age - everything seems new. The rooms are very nice, clean and modern, the bathroom and in particular the shower was lovely and the breakfasts were a "help yourself" buffet style with good quality food. The hotel, once you know where you are, is in a good location and very close to the train station, handy if you're travelling by rail.
I was happy with this hotel but where it really stood out was it's staff. On two occasions, two young lady members of staff went out of their way to help us. Both times some simple basic assistance would have been sufficient but they went the extra mile and really helped...most impressive. In addition the check-in was very efficient and handled swiftly. The member of staff who dealt with it asked some friendly questions and on learning it was our first trip, quickly produced some free maps, went through the main tourist sites with us and marked them up on the map. That one act of kindness and efficiency saved us quite some time in finding our way around.
Will I use this hotel again? Without a doubt I will only use this hotel on future visits to York.
A very good hotel and an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel, and I was delighted to read that the team were able to contribute to making sure you made the most of your time in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I found the Hampton 5 minutes walk from the station which was a great location to walk into town. room very clean and modern. The sofa bed for my 5 year old grandson was nearly as big as my bed and very comfortable. Most staff were very helpful with my very chatty grandson though not all were tolerant. the breakfast room was very busy though a notice warns you of busy time and lets you use other seating when it was full. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but I feel some members of staff would benefit with more training in people skills

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the family room, and that your grandson liked his big bed.
I was sorry to hear that not all of the staff were as welcoming as others. Please be assured that we share all feedback with the team, and we will work with them to ensure all the team are equally accommodating and welcoming as they should be.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my two kids in a family room which was more than comfortable. Kids loved the big power shower and the facilities in line with many hotels these days are limited but suitable i.e. no restaurant but snack service etc.
the breakfast was very good and the staff extremely courteous and helpful. Well located for city centre which was only a ten minute walk. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Debbers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the family room, and that you found the reception staff courteous and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for hen party I a triple room which was quite crossed but excellent value. Lovely bathroom v clean and tidy generally. Good facilities with an amazing buffet breakfast. Staff v friendly. Walked to train station easily but is just £4 in a taxi if it's raining. Couldn't fault it. X

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hen party, and that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Nice reasonably priced hotel within the city walls. Clean and comfortable with smallish rooms but good value for the location. We didn't have a problem with noise but we were not there on a Saturday night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarwickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you found the location of the hotel convenient for your stay in York, and was also really pleased that you found the room clean and comfortable and that you had a good night's sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel was modern and very comfortable. Great position near the station and the centre of York. The staff were helpful and friendly.
However the breakfast was disappointing. There was too much emphasis on self-service - the coffee and orange juice were tasteless. It was a shame because if they could only make some fresh coffee and perhaps cut up some fresh fruit (rather than tinned) this would be a good place to stay overall. I didnt understand why the oranges had felt tip pen writing on them?
Get the breakfast right and this would then get five points rather than four.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel, and that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. We are constantly reviewing the products and service we offer, therfore your comments will be extremely valuable to us when deciding what changes to make for the future.

With regards to the oranges, we use them to write messages to our guests to wish them a good morning etc, and have generally had positive feedback from guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £89 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing