We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Hotel in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Hotel in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times with my husband and every time we are impressed with just how spotlessly clean and comfortable our room is. Staff are courteous and friendly - breakfast is always included - recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 3forlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am delighted that we are your favorite hotel in York, and I was really pleased to read that you find the rooms to be spotlessly clean and comfortable which of upmost importance to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
541
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a friends reunion and part couples weekend.
Quiet room and comfortable bed ,great shower. All you need . Bar and reception staff cannot do enough for you , including lighting the candles on a birthday cake , and taking photos for us . Breakfast was great - far better than the comparable holiday inn express . Really good . Thanks!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you had a plesant reunion weekend, and that you liked the hotel and found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

An upmarket Premier Inn is how my hubby describes this hotel. Very nice rooms, modern decor and friendly staff who went out of their way to help us celebrate my daughter's 10th birthday. They even left a birthday card for her in our room. The hotel is a short picturesque walk across the River Ouse and close to all sights, restaurants and pubs. Excellent all round and I would recommend it if you're looking for a good hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a family room but would recommend upgrading for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted your daughter had a lovely 10th birthday with us, and I'm glad she appreciated the card we left in your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days in middle of April, the hotel is ideally situated about a five minute walk from the main shopping area. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfy. The breakfast was nice with a wide variety of choice from cereal and fruit to a full English. The bar is 24 hrs for those that want a drink anytime and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay here again on a visit to York.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel and appreciated the bar being open 24hrs. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great value for money. Room was spacious and very clean. 5 minutes walk to York Minster. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Lots to choose from although the quality of the cooked breakfast could be better. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel, and that you thought the hotel was good value for money.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay but had a problem finding the hotel,it is very close to Micklegate and the walls. Rooms were fine,bed very comfortable and a super large shower.Only niggle was I found the hand wash was very drying for my tender skin!
We timed our breakfast for 8:15 and there was plenty of room and fresh food constantly being replenished.As we left the dining room at about 9:00 it was very busy and some people were having to eat in the reception area.
When in York again we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 303 was very quiet and had a lovely view of the city walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and enjoyed your breakfast. I was however sorry to hear that you could not find the hotel very easily. We will certainly review our website dirctions to see if there is anything we can change to make finding the hotel easier for future guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a holiday in York, this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we cannot fault it.
The staff are professional , efficient and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean , rooms great with free wifi , television , safety deposit box and fantastic toiletries . Breakfast gave us a good selection.
This hotel is handy if your travelling by rail , a few minutes from the station and a pleasant walk in to the city . We will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you decided to stay with us for a second time, and was delighted to read your enjoyed the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing