We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay york”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent Hotel, Great breakfast,friendly staff, Easy access to local bars , restuarants, near the park and local bus stops and 2 minutes away from the train station.Relxed hotel wirth Fitness centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, and that you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,501 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice hotel in the centre of York and very near to train station. Seemed pretty new and had a very nice twin room with free view TV and really nice bathroom. Also ample storage space for clothes. It was a business trip to not too sure of cost but I believe it was expensive so I probably wouldn't have chosen it myself. One other downside was their late night pizza... If I'm going to pay £9.99 for a Chicago town pizza I could have brought myself from tesco I at least want it cooked in the oven NOT A MICROWAVE as they do here. It really did taste awful and was basically a bit of soggy dough with some tomato and cheese on it. I couldn't eat it. Gym was a plus point (not that I could bring myself to use it!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthews25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you liked the room and had an enjoyable stay.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expecations with regards to the Pizza. I can confirm that all of our Pizzas are cooked in the oven, however it does seem that on this occasion, your Pizza may not have been cooked sufficiently. Please accept my apologies as this most certainly should not have been the case, and I will certainly be sharing your comments with my food and beverage team to ensure that all Pizzas are cooked sufficiently in future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will chose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was relatively expensive. Although the well-decorated room was comfortable and very quiet, and the small bathroom was spotlessly clean, there was no mini-bar, no freebies, the window didn't open (by design), and there was only one bedside table. I found that the shower floor was very slippery when wet and I had to put the bathmat on the floor which didn't dry out
The staff were generally helpful and friendly, but when I asked for a sandwich ( I have to be careful about diet), I was told they don't do sandwiches. The menu was expensive, and I was prepared to pay an appropriate price and I really think that a hotel of this calibre could have managed a sandwich. We didn't eat in the hotel again, and we didn't find anywhere "round the corner", so we had to go into the centre to eat.
Breakfast was adequate, the toaster was playing up: the fruit was poorly displayed, what there was of it. I've had a better range in cheaper hotels abroad, maybe this is typical of English hotels...? Breakfast was a busy time, which created quite a good atmosphere.
I get the impression that this is a fairly new, modern hotel which is keen to impress. I've never seen such a mixture of guests coming and going, so the place is obviously popular.
I would stay here again, but next time I'd know what was missing.
An average rating from me is still OK, an "average" hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expecations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your first experience in a Hampton Hotel. As Hilton's focused service brand, we do offer more limited services that those of our sister hotels such as Hilton or Doubletree, however this allows us to charge lower room rates than our counterparts. We are also located within a few minutes walk of a variety of restaurants, shoud you prefer to dine outside of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will chose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in the Hampton brand.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent place to stay and although slightly cheaper than other similar hotel, every thing was very clean and overall a very good service. Smart clean rooms, lovely breakfast and close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, ad that you found the hotel to be good value.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you need to stay in York. It's located very close to the city centre, railway station, and within the city walls. The rooms are very clean, and you can tell it's quite a new building with a fresh look and furnishings. The room was very quiet considering it was the weekend and the hotel was full. The bedroom and bathroom were generous in size. We had the complimentary breakfast, nothing flash or exceptional, but what do you expect for free?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 950philipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, and liked the rooms.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is brilliant. The staff where great especially Dean,Helen and Natalie friendly and welcoming from the get go. The room was spotlessly clean with a good shower.

Breakfast was great far more than I expected when included in the price...dinner was limited but the choices available were good value for money.

Stay here when in YOrk

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked a short-notice trip to York and chose the Hampton Inn for its location and because it could accommodate a family of four. The price was a concern, though. The location is good - close to the train station and near the walls and medieval city - but the room was very small for the four of us (our children slept on a sofa bed). It felt a bit like the stateroom of a cruise ship, ingeniously designed to make the best use of the space. The breakfast buffet was good, with lots of choices, and the hotel serves a bar menu in the evening. It was a decent hotel but given the cramped quarters, not good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of th hotel, you enjoyed our inclusive breakfast.

I was sorry to hear you didn't think the room was good value due to the size. Our rooms are of a similar size to many of our competitor hotels in the UK, however I can appreciate that these may seem small compared to the room sizes in the US.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,880 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £89 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing