We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I went to York for a night away and got a reasonable deal for this hotel.
Slight confusion in finding it, having to enter what looks like a restricted area through the city walls.
One of the downsides is having to park down the street in a public car park and pay extra.
The interior is light and modern and this is reflected in the rooms, which have all the amenities you could require for a short stay. This includes a comfortable bed.
I am not a lover of self service breakfasts and this one was no exception. Average at best.
It is quite central and it was only the parking and breakfast that brought it down from Great to Good in terms of value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Gran_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had a comfortable nights sleep.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the car parking and breakfast we offer. As with many of the hotels in the city centre, parking space is extremely limited, however we lucky to have discounted car parking available at only a short walk from the hotel, which we hope is not too much of an inconvenience for our guests.

With regards to the breakfast, we do constantly review the products and service we offer and certainly value your feedback. As the breakfast is included for every guest in the hotel, we feel that the self service option is the quickest option in order to ensure that the many guests we have staying with us are able to have breakfast at their chosen time.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

everything was first class at this hotel. arrived Friday for York races, which is only a short distance, you can get shuttle bus from station, but as it was a beautiful day we walked. hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. room was excellent with lovely bathroom and fluffy white towels. hotel is in excellent location within the city centre. we stayed for 2 nights and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: double rooms with sofa bed are larger than the standard double room, at the same cost
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and I hope you had a lovely day at the races.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here by default but were pleasantly surprised. Comfortable rooms which were spacious and had all basic amenities.Reception were able to support me with a couple of basic essentials I had forgotten.
Centrally located with a car park literally down the road.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was self service; food was regularly replenished and there was a good selection available. Staff were attentive in moving dirty crockery and providing help.
The small gym was quiet and had suitable equipment to provide exercise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you were plesantly surprised by the hotel, and I'm really glad we were able to help you with those essential items you needed.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Was a last minute night away. Great location minutes from the station. We arrived by car and parked further down the street at the NCP for £12.00 for 24hrs. You get the parking ticket validated at the hotel for the discount.

Nice sized room, modern decor.

Had a great night sleep, nice sized bed and crisp bed linen.

Friendly staff at reception and quick check in.

Would return for another night away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kwl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel, and that you had a great nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The staff here is great. Very friendly and welcoming. Madison helped us find the perfect restaurant tonight, made the booking, and even ordered the taxi. Very attentive service. This hotel is in a very convenient location and has modern efficient rooms. We'll stay here on our next visit to York.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, and that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful . Maddison will be delighted that you liked the restaurant she recommended.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited Sunday night for a friends birthday. Great location, five minutes walk from train station and five minutes walk into York. Rooms very clean and tidy, quite modern. Good bathroom with shower, very clean. Breakfast self service but everything you would want. Staff all very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, and that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful and efficient.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

me and my partner stayed for one night for my birthday, room was immaculate and the staff at the bar were friendly and nice to briefly chat to. the breakfast was disappointing I had expected a higher standard at a Hampton, the meat was cheap and not nice at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday at the hotel and found the staff friendly.

I'm sorry that we failed to meet your expectaions regarding the inclusive breakfast we offer. We often review the products we use and your feedback will be extremely valuable to us when deciding what products to offer in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing