We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best budget hotel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best budget hotel I've stayed in”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good quality room and bathroom, friendly staff, great location and free wifi. My only criticism would be the smell of the shampoo, which was unusual to say the least! Hardly a major issue though. If you're looking for a base from which to explore York, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolknproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and Ithat you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    832
    188
    28
    15
See reviews for
550
983
82
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located walking distance from the train station, and walking distance into the city. Very clean and new. Breakfast was very good, help yourself buffet, with a large selection to choose from. Good size room and a lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked your room, and enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I went to York for a night away and got a reasonable deal for this hotel.
Slight confusion in finding it, having to enter what looks like a restricted area through the city walls.
One of the downsides is having to park down the street in a public car park and pay extra.
The interior is light and modern and this is reflected in the rooms, which have all the amenities you could require for a short stay. This includes a comfortable bed.
I am not a lover of self service breakfasts and this one was no exception. Average at best.
It is quite central and it was only the parking and breakfast that brought it down from Great to Good in terms of value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Gran_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had a comfortable nights sleep.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the car parking and breakfast we offer. As with many of the hotels in the city centre, parking space is extremely limited, however we lucky to have discounted car parking available at only a short walk from the hotel, which we hope is not too much of an inconvenience for our guests.

With regards to the breakfast, we do constantly review the products and service we offer and certainly value your feedback. As the breakfast is included for every guest in the hotel, we feel that the self service option is the quickest option in order to ensure that the many guests we have staying with us are able to have breakfast at their chosen time.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

everything was first class at this hotel. arrived Friday for York races, which is only a short distance, you can get shuttle bus from station, but as it was a beautiful day we walked. hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. room was excellent with lovely bathroom and fluffy white towels. hotel is in excellent location within the city centre. we stayed for 2 nights and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: double rooms with sofa bed are larger than the standard double room, at the same cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and I hope you had a lovely day at the races.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here by default but were pleasantly surprised. Comfortable rooms which were spacious and had all basic amenities.Reception were able to support me with a couple of basic essentials I had forgotten.
Centrally located with a car park literally down the road.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was self service; food was regularly replenished and there was a good selection available. Staff were attentive in moving dirty crockery and providing help.
The small gym was quiet and had suitable equipment to provide exercise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you were plesantly surprised by the hotel, and I'm really glad we were able to help you with those essential items you needed.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Was a last minute night away. Great location minutes from the station. We arrived by car and parked further down the street at the NCP for £12.00 for 24hrs. You get the parking ticket validated at the hotel for the discount.

Nice sized room, modern decor.

Had a great night sleep, nice sized bed and crisp bed linen.

Friendly staff at reception and quick check in.

Would return for another night away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kwl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel, and that you had a great nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The staff here is great. Very friendly and welcoming. Madison helped us find the perfect restaurant tonight, made the booking, and even ordered the taxi. Very attentive service. This hotel is in a very convenient location and has modern efficient rooms. We'll stay here on our next visit to York.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel, and that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful . Maddison will be delighted that you liked the restaurant she recommended.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing