We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Attractive Hotel But Falls Short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Attractive Hotel But Falls Short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is close to the railway station so walking to the hotel is easy. Being only a few years old and well-designed, walking into the lobby is an impressive experience. Reception was friendly and welcoming.

As we walked into our room we were impressed, until a faint but unmistakeable whiff of mildew accosted us, like your kid's gym bag. After traveling for 24 hours we weren't complaining. The bathroom looked spotless, no obvious place for the mildew scent to emanate from.

After some recovery time my mate decided to buy a bottle of wine, so she went down to the bar. We never paid much attention at first, but when it came time to pour, the level of the wine seemed low. Further investigation showed the bottle had been opened. Back down to the bar with it.. apologies but nothing else... new bottle of wine received, but we weren't impressed.

The room was very attractively decorated but on the small size according to N.A. standards. Thanks to LED technology everything was well-lit. The door-less shower was modern but had a floor like glass. The room info said rubber mats were available and I asked for one, but didn't get it until I asked a second time.

More unfulfilled promises... the info said electrical converters were available on request, but none were actually available except for one non-operative unit. I confirmed that it indeed did not work. At least they were right about that.

Breakfast was well presented and abundant but the offerings were rather tasteless. My biggest concern was with food handling. The cutlery was stacked in tubular receptacles with the mouth ends facing up. Everyone who took cutlery could see what they were choosing but everyone could fondle the eating surfaces while making their pickup, and I'm sure some of those people hadn't washed their hands. Another thing was a bus boy who was picking up dirty places with his bare hands and then using those same unwashed hands to put clean plates out. This seems to be contrary to food handling rules.

The TV service was good, Internet rather poor. Occasional whiffs of mildew continued... maybe it was coming from the drains because everything in the bathroom was spotless.

We weren't sorry we stayed at this hotel, but the management didn't really know how to run a first rate hotel.

Room Tip: We liked our west facing room. A good street scene from that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Box134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expecations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your first experience in a Hampton Hotel. Please be assured that the issues you have raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will chose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in the Hampton brand.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    822
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
544
963
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Finding a Hampton while planning for our trip to York was an unexpected treat: a new hotel familiar with the demands of travelers, the expected Hampton features of attractive, clean rooms, fresh duvet and pillow selection, a hot breakfast, and courteous staff. In addition to these regular features, the Hampton at York has a bar and dining service area where hot food and drinks of your choice are available. A really nice and welcoming place to stay rather it be for one night or longer. We found it perfect for our three day stay. A final word about the staff - They are Great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and I'm absolutely delighted you thought the staff were great!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

good location and the beauty of york is everything is walkable

i was up for a conference

the room was clean and and adequate

the air-conditioning slow but got there

the front desk were very good

the bar convenient

breakfast was full english i had the cereal which was fine

the pillows a bit small and the duvet not the greatest

i was surprised at the price £159 per night but i understand york was busy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group of 9 in four rooms; Although the service at the front desk wasn't great and the breakfast was uninspiring, the location and value for money were excellent and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Excellent for a weekend break.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NorgeChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad you enjoyed your stay, however I was concerned to hear you didn't think the front desk staff were very good and that the breakfast was uninspiring. We constantly review the products we offer and have recently introduced some new products. I would be very grateful if you would have the time to e-mail me at QQYTG_hampton@hilton.com, to give me some more detailed feedback regarding the front desk and breakfast so that we can improve the service we offer?

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at this hotel with my 7 year old. Great location, less than 5 mins walk from the station, really easy to find. Easy walk into town centre within the city walls.
Wonderful welcome from reception team, in fact all the staff we came across were friendly and helpful. We arrived to ask if we could leave luggage at lunchtime to be told our room was already available, which was great.
Room clean, with plenty of space and a fab bathroom, good shower. I was relegated to the sofa bed by my 7 year old and it was really comfy. The main bed was fine too so I'm told.
Only small gripe with the room was that the blind didn't quite fit, so the light leaked round the edges. This is a very personal issue as I like a very dark room, but probably wouldn't bother most people...
Breakfast fantastic, everything we could want, best hotel breakfast I've had in a long time.
On the whole, great stay, staff a credit to themselves in terms of friendliness and helpfulness, wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TimJoandHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you and your son liked the hotel and enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is around three minutes walk from the railway station, across by the Cedar Court. It is then only another two or three minutes and you are at the river on Micklegate!
Perfect quiet location adjecent to a courtyard garden and looking out onto the York Walls.
Our room on the fifth floor was roomy and the furnishings were stylish and fresh in creams green and browns. Each room has a double sofa that can be used as an extra bed.The beds are great quality, as are the linens.
Bathrooms were very well equipped with masses of towels and no less than 5 dispensers full of toiletries for all your needs.
We had breafast in the lounge looking onto the gardens and you can have a good selection of fresh fruits, juices, yogurts and cereals and pastries. Full English breakfast and hot home made pancakes are also included. The buffet was hot, tasty and well stocked and can be eaten untill 11pm.
Hampton was perfect for our stay arriving by train but parking is also available on the same street in a secure carpark.
Immaculately clean, modern, spacious and comfortable with a central location mean we would highly recommend for a stay in York.

Room Tip: Email your requests-we asked for a high floor and a quiet room and certainly were pleased to receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your breakfast overlooking the courtyard.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here bank holiday as a family treat . The hotel was excellent very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a fantastic location also as we visited York dungeons and Jorvik easy to walk to all attractions! A fantastic hotel would definitely stay again! ;-)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisakatt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad you had an enjoyable bank holiday and it sounds like you made the most of your time in York!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing