We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position, near station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid Waters
Level Contributor
167 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good position, near station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the railway station and within walking distance to most everything in town. The rooms are very small with little hanging space and nowhere to fit luggage. The bathroom was also very small without bench space to put anything. However the beds are very comfortable and the place is very clean. It is also quiet even though it is opposite a night club. Bed linen is nice and the towels are nice and thick. The included breakfast is excellent. Great variety and well presented. A special thankyou to the breakfast gentleman who not only found me gluten free toast but gluten free sausages as well. He was a gem and looked after me really well. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. On the whole I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the location for the hotel to your liking. I am also glad we could cater for your dietary requirements and that you enjoyed your breakfast

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    798
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
526
938
79
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

as the hotel is fairly new it smells new !!!!it is very central for the city center ,the staff were very helpful ,the bedrooms were very clean, the air con help as it was a very warm weekend , there is a night club opposite but this wasn't a problem for us , never heard a thing will return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 404lesleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the location for the hotel to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here last year. The amenities were comfortable, conveniently located and modern compared to similarly priced lodgings in other cities in which I was staying during this research trip.
If one is looking for local charm, this is not your place, but it might make a welcome stopover if one has been doing a lot of that and needs a place to regroup in a modern business hotel as I did after 3 weeks in charming B&Bs that don't necessarily cater to the modern business traveler! It was comfortable, clean, professionally run, reasonably priced, and within a couple of blocks of the historic city centre, cathedral, Clifford's Tower, etc. The lavish breakfast was also welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank academicprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

When booking a hotel for a night away for my girlfriends birthday, the Hampton definitely stood out to us as one of York's better hotels, I only wish we read the negative reviews before booking. We arrived in York around 11am, check in wasn't until 2pm but we wanted to park up and explore the city before checking in. I asked the receptionist where the hotel car parking was, and was told there wasn't one but there was an NCP down the street where my ticket could be validated for a discount rate of £12, fair enough I thought at the time, but upon leaving and 'apparently' having the ticket validated by the hotel receptionist, we still ended up paying £30 for parking which to me is an absolute scam given the cost of the room for the night. This wound me up for the majority of the journey home, and If the hotel had stated the car parking situation in the booking process, we'd have looked for alternative parking or travelled by train. The hotel itself is a very nice and modern building, the room was very nicely designed and clean, as was the bathroom, but these were the only positives. But, we were unable to open the window due to it being locked and us not having a key, the television could only pick up the music channels and the bathroom door (room 410) didn't lock unless you pushed the door forcibly against the frame. The air conditioning was loud, but I suppose the same could be said for all hotel air con units. The staff weren't the friendliest in my opinion, so all in all, we won't be hurrying back any time soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expectations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. With the Hotel providing air-conditioning in the rooms none of the windows open in the bedrooms. I will investigate too see why your television only had the music channels available. We do provide information on the Hotel on our welcome letter which does advise guests if there are any problems to contact the NCP car park to assist you.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I travel to York often on business and choose to stay here every time. Well furnished modern rooms, very convenient for City centre and reasonable price. Friendly staff and decent buffet breakfast - basic but good enough to set me up for the day. Parking is about 5 mins walk in Tanner Row public car park. I do not find this a problem and have never failed to get a space. The free wi fi and newspapers are welcome. I really like the shiny modern bathrooms the rooms have. I stay in lots of hotels and many look a bit tired with slightly weary decor and fittings ... But not here. Everything is new and spotless. I wouldn't choose the bar for a social but why would you? You are in the heart of lovely York and within minutes of dozens of great pubs and restaurants!
If you are on a budget this is good value too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ManInBlack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us regularly and that you enjoy the fixtures and fittings at the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton. Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights in york and have to say, even though the hotel is a nondescript building, the location is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast (included) is awesome. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I'm really glad you enjoyed the breakfast we offer and that you found the rooms met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having not stayed in a Hampton before, we were disappointed. Staff were not particularly helpful or friendly, off street access is poor and there is no parking. On the plus side, the room was modern, clean and well apponted. Breakfast is a limited buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaral1202158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expecations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your first experience in a Hampton Hotel. Please be assured that the issues you have raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will chose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in the Hampton brand.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing