We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mini break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Hampton by Hilton York hotel provided an excellent environment and facilities, helpful staff and good food which made a positive contribution to a super mini break in York during Le Tour de France weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Tour de France, and I was delighted you found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
541
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Check the alarm clock radio hasn't been set by the previous occupant - ours went off at 6am on a Saturday morning! Ouch! Small room and service station feel to breakfast arrangements. Fine, but only if you get a really cheap deal. There are much nicer hotels in York for less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

Please accept my apologies regarding the alarm clock. The housekeeping team have been reminded to check that all alarm clocks are not set when cleaning rooms, in order that an incident of this nature does not happen again. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expecations with the breakfast we offer. We are constantly reviewing the products we offer, and your feedback will be extremely important to us when deciding what to offer our guests in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us, and I do hope you will choose to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay on Fri 4th July (just before the tour de France). Managed to get 2 rooms for £84 each (through Hotels.com) with breakfast on the Monday before. Very reasonable price as the hotel was very close to the city centre (5/10 min walk). Got there after 10pm so Tanner Row car park closed but luckily a space on the street outside (£2).Very good breakfast the next morning. Only negative was that I booked 1 double and 1 twin room but got 2 twins which was a bit annoying but only for 1 night.

Overall def recommend and would revisit but if driving get there before 10pm!

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel (214/218) but no noise at all from nightclubs outside. If on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer.

I was sorry to hear you were given a twin room instead of a double. Unfortunately as I do not have your details it is difficult to investigate why this happened as we would certainly never change a reservation from a double room to a twin, so I can only assume something has happened when this has come through to the hotel from the agent you booked with. I would however be happy to look into this for you if you e-mail me on QQYTG_Hampton@hilton.com with your details.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hampton with the hotel in the ideal location of being in the city center. The hotel itself was very stylish with the rooms spacious and very well fitted out. The buffet breakfast was also superbly laid out and easy to navigate your way around. My only thought about how they could improve is in terms of service with the staff seeming to be very efficient but not the most friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was however sorry to hear you didn't think the staff were very friendly. I will certainly share your comments with my team so that they can improve on this for future guests.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this hotel for two nights,for me and the wife,I had sent them a email to ask if we could have a room at the back and not on the ground floor if possible ,still not had a reply but any way when we arrived check in was quick,and all the staff were friendly and very helpfull, room was clean and modern. Like the shower ,not keen myself on baths in hotels,towels changed every day,it's the first hotel were the wifi worked properly and was free ,no noise at all at night and the bed was really comfy ,breakfast was good .lots of choice and help yourself which I also like,a bonus was the Tour de France was on while we were there,it was a relaxed chilled out hotel,good value for money,every think is walking distance,pubs shops, train station ,this was our first visit to York really liked it and really like the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed the Tour de France. I was sorry you did not receive a reply to your e-mails. We do respond to all e-mails within 24 hours, so I am not really sure what happened. It may be that it was not delievered?

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great city for a lovely weekend. Hotel is in a great location and well priced. Having the complimemtary breakfast was a big help. Walking distance from the train station. The staff was very friendly and the bed was comfortable. We liked the pillows too. Our room had a view of the city walls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank TucsonWildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and the breakfast we offer, and I was delighted to read you thought the staff are friendly and helpful.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hampton by Hilton in York, UK was our choice for a 2 day stay to reconnect with one of our favorite cities. We chose the hotel for its location, free wifi in rooms, and free breakfast. We especially needed the wifi, travelling from the US and choosing to keep connected to business and family via wifi. Unfortunately, the wifi didn't work at the hotel until 2 hours before checkout. We spent a lot of time checking for updates with hotel staff and looking around the city for a cafe or pub with wifi. The hotel policy is "100% guarantee" . Neither the clerks nor the manager would honor the guarantee. I have had no response to an email which Hilton said they forwarded to Hampton by Hilton York management. Our wifi service was fine at all other bookings on our trip. This hotel's management seems to be out to lunch.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_HM244IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and the breakfast we offer. Please accept my apologies for the WiFi Failure whilst you were staying with us. The hard wired internet was working throughout the hotel, however one of the componants for the WiFi had failed, which meant we had to wait for a new part to be deleivered. Unfortunately Hilton have not passed your complaint onto me, however, if you would be kind enough to forward the e-mail to QQYTG_Hampton@hilton.com, I will certainly respond directly to you as soon as I receive it.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing