We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here Sun 20/7/14 and what a delight, from check in to check out this was a delightful experience, the hotel was so clean, staff were very very helpful, the rooms were lovely and modern, free wi if and breakfast included in the price.
We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone
Many thanks for a memorable stay in York

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the facilities we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    832
    188
    28
    15
See reviews for
550
983
82
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed on the 20thjuly for1night and having stayed in york on many occasions it was our first time at this lovely hotel. I needed a disabled room and it was brillient ,the shower was amazing ,asked for extra towels befor we arrived they were in the room ready ,always a sign of a good hotel.
Greated by an amazing receptionist Marina althought we were early we left our bags and went into york, we were so impressed by her proffesional but personal manner we knew we had chosen the right hotel. On our return she helped us to our room which we were very pleased with it over looked the city walls and was totally sound proved.
The evening menu was rather limited and rather dissapointing ,but Tony the chef made us some waffles with maple syrup and ice cream which was not on the menu so he did more than he needed to . Thank you Tony.
The only negative point about the hotel was the breakfast Buffett and it was not the food choice that was brilliant ,being in a wheelchair I could not reach anything !!!! Everything was too high or too far back , i did speak to the managress and she said she would raise my concerns .
The hotel is in a very god location for the centre of york

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you thought the hotel was stylish and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you thought the staff were friendly and helpful, and Tony and Marina will be absolutely delighted with your lovely comments.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was tucked away enough to be quiet but close enough to city centre to walk. Right beside the beautiful city walls.
The staff were all courteous and friendly. We arrived early Friday morning and enquired if we could leave our bags and we're told the room was ready to check in. This allowed for us to rest following an early morning flight.
The room was comfortable and well presented. Breakfast was delicious and the grab and go option was a lovely alternative to sit down breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you thought the hotel was stylish and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you liked the variety we offer for breakfast and appreciated the grab and go option.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was an excellent hotel, in an ideal location for central York. The inclusive breakfast was also high standard. The only negative, which is out of the hotel's control to a certain extent, is the need to pay £12. 10 for overnight parking and that this car park was not situated next to the hotel. I would however strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting York :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel's location and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you liked the variety we offer for breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is a five to ten minute walk from the railway station and about the same from the hotel to central York - so a very good and quiet location. The rooms are well appointed and the central heating system works silently and beautifully - not always the case!! Tea and coffee facility is in the room as is an iron and ironing board. The meals in the hotel restaurant were good but a short walk also takes you into central York with all the different restaurants and cafes on offer. There is also a small fitness centre in the basement. In terms of the facilities, the location then this represents a very good value hotel in York.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the fifth floor and on the second floor and both rooms were delightfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel's location and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you liked the facilities in the room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We drove into York, it was challenging. Maybe it was busier with the Tour De France due to arrive the day we left. The hotel is up a hill and the parking is a public garage at the end of the block. They gave us a coupon for a discount but it did not work. The hotel is clean and the room was very nicely decorated. Interesting bathroom shower, which is just a piece of curved tempered glass. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The sofa bed had linens already on it when we arrived. We were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. It took us a day to figure out that the buildings across the street from the hotel were the "backs" of the stores on the Michelson. There is also a short cut across the street and to the left, a kind of alley. We dropped off our car at Europecar (National) which is on a slip road to the left of the train station as you face it. Hard to get to in traffic. So after check-out walking to the train station with bags in tow was easy, just a couple turns and a block away. The breakfast buffet was the most extensive we had on our trip. Such a variety of things. Lots of lovely pastries and coffee machines and fruit, so many choices. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel's location and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you liked the variety we offer for breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For staying one night in a city centre hotel, you can't really get better than this for the price. The rooms are well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is great, just 5 mins from the train station, off the beaten track and a short walk into the city centre. Breakfast is a buffet that has everything you could ask for apart from the coffee - bit disappointing, insipid liquid out of a machine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was also nice to hear you liked the variety we offer for breakfast. We will take on board your comments regarding the coffee, which will be extremely useful to us when deciding what products to use in future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing