We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Hampton by Hilton York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Visit to Hampton by Hilton York”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

MY Son recommended this hotel as excellent location providing good facilities at a very reasonable price I agree totally. In particular the bedrooms were of a good size and allowed us to have undisturbed rest. We wiil certainly come again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank apalmer1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    838
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
557
1,006
82
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July and had a very nice stay. The room and hotel in general was absolutely spotless and had a very modern feel to it. Location is great, just within the city walls and a 5 minute walk or so to the station or to the city centre. It’s located in a quiet area, next door to the council buildings and an office block and as our room faced the rear of the hotel then at night it was very quiet. The room we had was very spacious, nicely decorated and had a nice comfy sofa, walk in shower and air con. What we did notice however was opposite the front of the hotel was a night club. At the time we stayed it seemed to be having a refurbishment so was closed but if you get allocated a room on the front of the building when the club is open then you may want to check with reception what the noise levels are likely to be like. And in respect of the reception staff, they were very pleasant and knowledgeable, always having a smile on their faces. Breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of selection for all tastes. Again here the breakfast area was spotless and the staff done an excellent job in clearing tables once guests had finished. Would definitely recommend this hotel and probably recommend it over its sister hotel, the York Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuggyWuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room to your liking. The Team will be delighted to read that you found them knowledgeable and pleasant


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

An enjoyable stay. The staff are fabulous, very welcoming and very helpful. Rooms are very large and comfortable and modern, however, we did not have a bath which would have been good after a days walking in York. Breakfast is self service, food is good and again the staff are on hand to provide any extras like pancakes etc. The hotel is a fabulous location for the walls and near to the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room to your liking. We unfortunately do not have any rooms with a bath at the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot with work and this hotel is by far the best. The rooms are spotless and the housekeeping team are really helpful and always greet you with a smile . Breakfast is great with something for everyone . I would recommend for business or leisure .Gets 5 stars from me

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank petal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your view from your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future with our warm smiley faces!

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staying at the Hampton by Hilton in York for three nights and very happy with everything. Being close to the railway station and inside Micklegate with a view of the wall (not a wall), in easy walking distance to the centre for shopping, restaurants and the wonderful historic buildings is making my visit. The accommodation is of a good standard and the free serve-yourself breakfast (extensive) and wifi are bonuses. Service is excellent with a warm welcome at reception and smiles from housekeeping and breakfast staff. At this point I'm considering extending my stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide views of this beautiful city. End of hallway rooms 233/234 (and higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your 3 nights stay with us and liked your view from your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

...and that describes what you a getting ...no frills but great quality. The rooms are a good size and as this is relatively new its fit out is still in good condition...................................

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil61a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the size of your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

* Great location very close to the centre of the city.
* All staff I met were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble.
* Lovely big room, modern furnishings, plenty of storage space, very clean and well maintained, comfortable.
* Great cool aircon in the rooms, invaluable during the recent stiflingly hot weather.
* Pricey but good quality laundry service. Iron and ironing board in bedroom if needed.
* Good wifi access, not the fastest but adequate.
* Generally peaceful stay, and hotel responded quickly when had noisy neighbours in the early hours one night.

My first time at this hotel, would stay again and definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: My room had a connecting door so let in sound very easily from the connecting room, maybe avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the facilities we offer.

I was so sorry to hear you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel, but I am delighted that the team quickly responded to your complaint.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing