We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and comfy place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Alpine, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good clean and comfy place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really close to the train station (walking distance) and to the tourist parts of York. Staff are very helpful and very pleasant to deal with.
As someone who spends close to 140 days a year in hotels I was very pleased with the location, room and bed. Though a little on the compact side when it comes to room size everything was clean and functional - it always surprises me that hotels do not understand that this is what we want!
Breakfast was good and food was always fresh...

Room Tip: No real view to talk about so no big deal which way you face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found round to your liking
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    853
    201
    33
    17
See reviews for
590
1,029
84
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This property is well situated in York city centre and is both modern and comfortable. Pricing is very competitive but, and its a very big but, there are some annoying features which will put many travellers off this hotel.

1) Its cheap so atracts Stag and Hen parties. We stopped in late July and the hotel was full of drunk teenagers and twenty-somethings. We saw two ambulances called to to the hotel to treat drunk revellers over our two day stay, one call was to a teenager at 1600hrs who was paralytic drunk and vomiting in reception. What a waste of emergency service resource and surely and embarrassment for the hotel? Hilton - apologise to Yorkshire Ambulance Service, truly unacceptable.

2) The hotel is opposite one of Yorks largest nigh clubs. this makes returning to the hotel after midnight and interesting experience. My wife felt threatened, I disagree, but I am over 6" tall and she just 5", so I can see why she felt uncomfortable.

3) Hotel claims to serve food, it does not. Food is reheated pizza and packet snacks.

4) If you are travelling on business do not use the recommended NCP car-park. This closes at 2200hrs and does not reopen until 0800hrs. This caught me out as I needed my car at 0600hrs for work. I should have read the notice in the car-park but as there is nowhere else to park there is little other choice other than a parking ticket.

So great little hotel, with helpful and professional staff in a super location. However, as York has become the nightlife capital of Yorkshire this hotel seems to have become the choice for cost conscious younger travellers which concomitant associated problems.

Fine for business (other than the car-park) but take care if looking for a family hotel on a weekend. I want to like this property, but based on two business stays I am unable to recommend.

Room Tip: Good for business mid-week. avoid if choosing for a family break at weekends. Marriott or Holiday In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expectations. The Ambulances that were called were for a local establishment and not for a guest drinking in the hotel we were just assisting. We do offer a small bar menu which is available to 9.30 which offer salad, curry’s and a pasta dish. There are also daily specials, starters and desserts. The pizzas are available on our 24 hour menu and the snack shop is available again 24h ours a day.
Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us, and I do hope you will choose to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed. Check in staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us some excellent recommendations for places to eat.
The rooms were nicely decorated and were air conditioned.
Breakfast was good considering it was included in the price.
All the main attractions in York were no more than a 10 minute walk.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your 4 nights stay with us in and that you found your check in experience pleasant with the team giving you some helpful information on York.
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a pretty good hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. The breakfast in the morning had a lot to offer and was ran very proficiently. The only thing I wasn't so keen on was having to park my car down the road at the public car park. If I had been on my own at night I would not have liked to have to walk up the hill to the hotel, but I suppose there is nothing the hotel can do as they don't have any space to build their own car park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you liked the comfortable and clean rooms.
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and eldest daughter spent a lovely overnight stay. Staff were friendly. We had a lovely chill out time in the afternoon after we arrived in the very pleasant lounge, enjoying a wine together and chat.
Our room was spacious, clean and with everything we needed.
Breakfast was great. It was midweek but no problems. Thought the grab and go idea was very good for those in a hurry.
We were also able to leave our bags at the hotel after we checked out, and collected them later in time to catch our train home. no charge for this service.
All in all the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Our window did overlook a night club, but on the night we stayed, the club was closed, but maybe som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clanconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in particular that you liked the bar and breakfast offering.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful, after checking in the receptionist telephoned our room to see that everything was to our liking, in the room there was a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, extremely comfortable beds and air conditioning. The breakfast area had everything that you could want. The hotel is about a 5/10min walk from the rail station and town centre bars and restaurants about 15/20 minute walk.

Room Tip: A room on the fourth floor would maybe have better overall view, but I feel this hotel is about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the bedrooms to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location for those on business or vacation in York. 5 mins to train station and 10 mins walk to city centre. Great value. Comfortable and great for value. Good for business, especially with complimentary internet connection and breakfast (though not great for dinner). Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 13echo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your business stay with us and you found the Hotel to your liking. I am sorry you did not enjoy your evening meal. We are looking into changing the burgers we offer.
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing