We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Checked in with four friends friday night for a quick birthday weekend away. Second time Ive stayed here and I cant find any issues other than the ANAEMIC bacon at breakfast! You need to get it under the grill guys, it's so under cooked it's still oinking!

Aside from that I think this hotel is great, ideally situated for a weekend away and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 225 and 227 face a large unattractive office building, be sure and make sure you dont get dressed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expectations. My Food and Beverage Manager will work with her new Breakfast Chef to rectify this problem.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us, and I do hope you will choose to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very friendly relaxed atmosphere, generous room sizes with beautiful shower room immaculately clean and welcoming. Very helpful staff and excellent self service buffet breakfast. Great location within the city walls within easy walking distance of all attractions. Would recommend and would stay again on return to York for the shopping, character and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you liked your generous sized room and the breakfast buffet offering.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night at the end of July. Really decent hotel and nice welcome from front of house staff. We stayed in a twin room which faced out to the front. All you really need in a hotel if you want to come to York for a few days - clean friendly hotel, has a little bar, good breakfast, decent sized nice looking rooms, and friendly staff. Not much more to say than that!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ObjectiveFoodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you liked your room and the breakfast offering. It is always nice to read such posative comments about the team.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm working in York and have been placed in 4 different hotels and this one is my preferred choice as it's; good value, clean and modern, air conditioned, near the centre, nice breakfast and has fantastic staff.

I've block booked the rest of my time in York to stay here (helping amass some points on the HHonors loyalty card too).

My only criticism for a long stayer is the evening menu range - about 6 items. As such we mostly go into York to eat each evening.

Room Tip: Try for floor 3 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us (as always!) As discussed last night we will be in the process of changing the menu in the next few months.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Another perfect stay here for 2 days with my sister, rooms were very clean and comfortable we were on the front directly opposite the nightclub but heard nothing at all both nights. Breakfast as always was good with a huge choice and staff really helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in York after staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you liked your room and the breakfast offering.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really close to the train station (walking distance) and to the tourist parts of York. Staff are very helpful and very pleasant to deal with.
As someone who spends close to 140 days a year in hotels I was very pleased with the location, room and bed. Though a little on the compact side when it comes to room size everything was clean and functional - it always surprises me that hotels do not understand that this is what we want!
Breakfast was good and food was always fresh...

Room Tip: No real view to talk about so no big deal which way you face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found round to your liking
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This property is well situated in York city centre and is both modern and comfortable. Pricing is very competitive but, and its a very big but, there are some annoying features which will put many travellers off this hotel.

1) Its cheap so atracts Stag and Hen parties. We stopped in late July and the hotel was full of drunk teenagers and twenty-somethings. We saw two ambulances called to to the hotel to treat drunk revellers over our two day stay, one call was to a teenager at 1600hrs who was paralytic drunk and vomiting in reception. What a waste of emergency service resource and surely and embarrassment for the hotel? Hilton - apologise to Yorkshire Ambulance Service, truly unacceptable.

2) The hotel is opposite one of Yorks largest nigh clubs. this makes returning to the hotel after midnight and interesting experience. My wife felt threatened, I disagree, but I am over 6" tall and she just 5", so I can see why she felt uncomfortable.

3) Hotel claims to serve food, it does not. Food is reheated pizza and packet snacks.

4) If you are travelling on business do not use the recommended NCP car-park. This closes at 2200hrs and does not reopen until 0800hrs. This caught me out as I needed my car at 0600hrs for work. I should have read the notice in the car-park but as there is nowhere else to park there is little other choice other than a parking ticket.

So great little hotel, with helpful and professional staff in a super location. However, as York has become the nightlife capital of Yorkshire this hotel seems to have become the choice for cost conscious younger travellers which concomitant associated problems.

Fine for business (other than the car-park) but take care if looking for a family hotel on a weekend. I want to like this property, but based on two business stays I am unable to recommend.

Room Tip: Good for business mid-week. avoid if choosing for a family break at weekends. Marriott or Holiday In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expectations. The Ambulances that were called were for a local establishment and not for a guest drinking in the hotel we were just assisting. We do offer a small bar menu which is available to 9.30 which offer salad, curry’s and a pasta dish. There are also daily specials, starters and desserts. The pizzas are available on our 24 hour menu and the snack shop is available again 24h ours a day.
Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us, and I do hope you will choose to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing