We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break with my Grandson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed with my 5 year old grandson, allocated a nice quiet room at back of hotel with view of city walls. Room facilities excellent, nice comfy bed. Buffet style breakfast offered extensive choice, and very good quality. Quite easily provided 3 course breakfast, to set you up for another busy day of site seeing. Hotel very well placed took us 7mins to walk from railway station (5year olds pace), and not much longe than this to walk into town. Already planning to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us with your grandson and I was delighted to read you both enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very nice, new hotel. Nice design, decent bar area, walking distance from town, restaurants etc. Room was nice and clean, modern, decent bathroom and shower, good bed. Very busy at the weekend so breakfast was crowded and a bit of a free-for-all, but buffet breakfast was OK.

Parking is fairly easy just 50 yards down the road in an NCP. Still £12 a night though, even with hotel discount.

Staff very friendly and helpful (good restaurant recommendations), good wifi. All in all, for a weekend stay or a business trip, a good hotel for the level/price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found the staff helpful and firendly and that you appreciated the convenient location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very clean , comfortable hotel. Staff extremely helpful when we were caught in the tail end of hurrican Bertha! All family soaked through. Almost ajacent to part of city walls and easy walk into a great choice of restaurants.Bed very comfortable, room nicely airconditioned. Breakfast fine except the cooked food was a bit sparse! Very efficiently dealt with all in all.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor, lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wasvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found the staff helpful and firendly and that you appreciated the information we gave you in the welcome letter.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Reception staff very friendly and welcoming, happy to help with anything! Lovely room, very clean, nice comfy bed, great location, everywhere is walkable and a nice breakfast- easy to get a seat, as it is clearly marked on welcome letter and around hotel when breakfast gets busy so I can't understand people complaining about it being busy? I couldn't fault this hotel, will 100% return on my next trip to York!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found the reception team welcoming and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very close to train station and Mickelgate Bar. Ideally situated for the tourist on foot. We were easily able to walk to all the in-city attractions we wanted to see and then hoof it to the train station for an easy get away at the end of our stay. Breakfast was up to usual Hampton standards, as was the staff. Rooms a bit small (3 of us staying in one room) but the beds were just fine and all other amenities excellent. Able to return to the hotel and have do-it-yourself lunch, then go back out sightseeing. Hotel was kind enough to keep our luggage behind the desk on the last day so we could enjoy a few more sights before taking the train out. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you liked our breakfast offering and location.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel, 5minutes Walt to City centre. Room was at front of hotel staff very pleasant , free wifi and free breakfast.
This is our 2nd stay and loved every minute will be back again .

The only small detail that we complained about was on the day of check out , check out is at 12 pm , house keeping knocked on our door at 8.45 to clean room !! Why ? Checkout is 12 and we were still in our bed .... Front desk apologised when we complained ...don't know why housekeeping woke us up so early as we were leaving later on anyway and plenty of time to clean room before new guests check in .

Apart from that great stay .

Room Tip: Rooms at front quite at the moment but see that a nightclub is getting done up for re opening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shepherrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expectations. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again, in which case we do provide do not disturb signs to hang on the doors.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us.

Kind Regards
Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Checked in with four friends friday night for a quick birthday weekend away. Second time Ive stayed here and I cant find any issues other than the ANAEMIC bacon at breakfast! You need to get it under the grill guys, it's so under cooked it's still oinking!

Aside from that I think this hotel is great, ideally situated for a weekend away and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 225 and 227 face a large unattractive office building, be sure and make sure you dont get dressed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hampton by Hilton York

I was sorry to hear that we failed to deliver your expectations. My Food and Beverage Manager will work with her new Breakfast Chef to rectify this problem.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback to us, and I do hope you will choose to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £82 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing