We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Not stayed in a Hampton branded Hilton before ... this hotel is new and is situated on what seems like a back street close to the railway station. It's a new property and although the rooms are comfortable it's not really what you would expect from a proper Hilton.
The reception staff who can have a "little attitude" are busy serving behind the bar - it feels as though you're in an up market Ibis and the breakfast is nothing much, same old English breakfast selection, a few croissants, rubbish juice which is not fresh and a tea making machine which actually dispenses below average tea/coffee.
The rooms are clean an tidy, decent TV and there's plenty of hot water so if you're looking for somewhere to relax in your room and sleep it will do. If you like enjoying the hotel amenities there's none really!

Room Tip: Avoid being put on the ground floor ... it's too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you thought the hotel was in a good location, but was sorry to hear you were disppointed with the facilities we offer.

Hampton is Hilton's focused service brand, which offers excellent quality accommodation at value for money prices. In order to keep our prices lower than that of the full service Hilton branded hotels such as Hilton and Doubletree, we do offer a more limited service than those hotels. Your feedack is always important to us, and we will certainly work with the reception team to ensure they are more helpeful in future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay at this modern, conveniently placed hotel, near rail station and museum. Reception staff were exceptional ( special thanks to Marie from Sardinia) courteous and all most helpful. Room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was very busy, self service on a tray, had to wait for hot food to be replenished, but staff do their best to keep all surfaces tidy and work very hard to keep up with demand. This hotel is very good value for money and we would be happy to return when next visiting York.

Room Tip: Would recommend a high position room ( we were on 5th floor) lovely quiet room, not troubled by nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanGSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

this hotel is probably one of the cleanest & comfortable hotels I have ever been in. the staff were all nice and the place was spotless, the breakfast was great & well worth the money. the only down side was the parking in the NPC car-park across the road, we did get the ticket validated by the hotel but the stay still cost us £18 in the car-park for less than 24hrs.

Room Tip: Make sure your ticket for the car park is validated, its easy to find round the one way system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jon8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked the hotel. You may be interested to know that the car park have recently upgraded their machinery, so any issues with discounting tickets should now be resloved. The NCP have asked me to pass on their apologies to you for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope you will decide to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is excellent, the location, rooms, cleanliness etc. But on Saturday 23rd August, our night was ruined by the noise of the children running up and down the corridor, knocking on hotel doors, screaming and shouting. It was a large group and aged from about 10yrs old to teenagers. It got worse by 3.00am as the parents then decided to have an argument in the corridor. I hope these rude, inconsiderate people do not stay in hotels regularly as a group, otherwise, god help those who are on the same floor as them. If any of them are reading this, then you should be thoroughly ashamed of yourselves and the behaviour of your children. Not the hotels fault, but I will be inclined to stay at another hotel next time in York.

Room Tip: The basement room we were in looked out onto a wall, I would prefer a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Weymouthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel, but was sorry to hear your sleep wasdisturbed by other inconsiderate guests. We do have staff on 24 hours a day to deal with any noise issues, and normally these are resolved within 5 minutes of them being reported to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope you will decide to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for a night and it was a nice stay.

The concept is great and every little detail was thought of. The gym facilities are free to use and so is the breakfast in the morning. Sadly I didnt wake up in time to get it. I could leave my bags for the day and also had a drink at the bar the previous night. Staff were very polite as well. I was even wished by a cleaning porter in the lift which is not normally the case.

Compact yet complete.

Room Tip: There are rooms at lower ground level so if you don't like that ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the use of the gym.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good reception. Good food at restaurant, but very limited in the evening meals. Very clean room and service. Unfortunately the air con did not work in our room, so it was quite stuffy at night. Overall a good stay for my first time at a Hampton Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the hotel.

Please accept my apologies for any inconveneince caused by the fault with the air conditioning in your room. This has now been fixed and I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We got a good price for a Sunday night stay at this clean and modern hotel. The rooms are well above average for the price range and the location makes it appealing. Only downside, the NCP car park across the road is a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be good value for money.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I hope you we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Victoria Gabb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £89 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing