We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of York Racecourse

York Racecourse
Ranked #25 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northern England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great day”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

York race course is a favourite day out. We live about an hour away. We travel there and back by train and always buy county stand tickets. The county stand gives access to most if not all areas of the course. We always head to the champagne bar and take it from there. The atmosphere is,lovely, the crowds good natured and friendly. The dress code is smart. This is a lovely day out for a group of girls wanting to dress up and drinks champagne all day. Or perhaps a group of friends who just want to enjoy racing. Classy surroundings. My only criticism is that the food offerings can be limited. We like seafood and eat at the little bar which offers champagne and a seafood platter. If we don't eat here we get a sandwich, these are over priced and the selection is a little strange. Food is the only drawback, in every other way this is a great day if you like the sport of kings!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    144
    32
    21
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stunning racecourse limited drinks for girls”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful course on beautiful grounds, lots of eating places, totes and places to buy drink. Very limited drinks selection if like me you only like girlie drinks the only thing available was vodka an mixer that I could find suitable. No Malibu or archers or anything like that. However still had a fabulous time and would definitely come back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkieLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“County Stand worth every penny”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really enjoyed our day at the Ebor meeting. We treated ourselves to paying £104 for 2 tickets in the County Stand. Although the weather was inclement the course was lovely and had a great atmosphere and was very friendly.
The bars were very well organised so it didn't take long to get served. We paid £7.75 for afternoon tea which included a huge pot and being able to go up and help yourself to an extensive range of hot, cold, sweet and savoury foods. Really good value.
The shuttle buses were well organised too and although there was a massive queue at the end, double deckers are used so everyone soon gets on.

Definitely hope to return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Love York races”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited York Races every year now for the past four and loved it every time. Usually go casual to the course enclosure - great for taking your own food and drink and fun for kids - but most recently in the Melrose Club Lounge. Food is great, drinks reasonably priced, staff really nice.

Great day out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

You cant beat the atmosphere its good value for money amd a good day out with friends but I would make sure you take pleanty of money as it is expemsive to drink

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Racecourse also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing