We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piglets Adventure Farm

Piglets Adventure Farm
Ranked #28 of 199 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from here after a fantastic day! We took our 2 year old daughter who equally loved it! Got there for when it opened at 10 and it seemed quite, my little one got to hold rabbits and guinea pigs which she loved! Staff was brilliant! She played in the sand pit for ages, ran round and had a fab time. Tractor ride was lovely and so unique to other places, loved the water bombs however she was too little to go on! Lovely to watch it! Pig racing was hilarious and once again staff was brilliant! Overall this place is defiantly worth a visit! Maybe not suitable for older children I.e 12 years up! Well worth the money and the shop is beautiful! Take a picnic would be my advice! Thanks again!

Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsLubyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W, Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review.
It''s wonderful to hear such positive feedback and we hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    88
    34
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good value for money - although would be better if slightly lower price for first accompanying adult.
Pleased with the baby change facilities and glad there was a microwave to heat up the baby food.
Had a disappointed 9 year old though who ordered hot dog and curly fries and ended up with sausages in a bun. If you advertise hot dogs they should be hot dogs!
The maze was fun, although not easily accessible with a pushchair.
The go-karts were good, as was the water bomb area. The pig racing is definitely worth watching. Everyone enjoyed that.
Would have liked a soft play area for babies / small children, as there wasn't a lot they could do - apart from eat sand in the sand pit!
Overall a good day x

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W, Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Its great to hear that overall you had a very good day. I am sorry that your 9 year old was disappointed with the hot dog, we serve our own meat from our farm and fruit and vegetables that we grow as we believe in educating children where food comes from. The sausages we use are our own chipolata's from our own reared pigs and we make ourselves.
Glad to hear you all enjoyed our Pig Racing and new attraction, water wars.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visited Piglets last week with my 5 year old, two year old and sister-in-law with her 4 yr and 9 month old. I was expecting something on par with York Maize and it sort of was, but scaled down. This wasn't a problem as it had a much more relaxed atmosphere to it and wasn't too busy!

The kids spent the entire day playing on the tractors, playing in the sandpit and looking at all the other activities. Hence to say the kids did not want to leave and there were a few tears!

Save the water bombing activity until last though as you get very wet!

There is an amaizing farm shop just outside. I wished we have purchased our picnic food from their as they have a salad bar, sausage rolls etc, which all looked better than from a supermarket.

Only downside was the toilets, we only visited toward the end of the day but paper towels had run out and the nappy bin was full.

We would definitely go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Took a 2yr old for her birthday trip our. Plenty dir her to play with and lits of animals to look at. It is slightly pricey, however you could stay there all day with a picnic. Bouncing pillows are great fun as well as the giant sandpit and tractor rides. There were some week old piglets on the day we visited which were very cute. Our little one particularly enjoyed petting the Guinea pigs and tortoise. Great day, need the sun shining though, or at least no rain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank drstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire - England
Level Contributor
197 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A good fun venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took our two grandchildren here on Sunday aged 5 and 7. It is good value with a family ticket and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is spread over a reasonably large area and there are loads of free things to do and climb on. For the kids that bit. Make sure you are there for the pig racing which is a real hoot. There is a petting area but I would not bother going if the kids just want to play with the guinea pigs. There are better venues in Yorkshire than this one for playing with the animals. Good areas both inside and out for your own picnic and there is a cafe on site too. We spent almost five hours there which is a good indication of how much is on offer. When you leave, unless you are heading to Scarborough or the East, turn right outside the gates and go via Haxby. The A64 is a nightmare of a road to get on to. Have fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piglets Adventure Farm also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Gate Helmsley, York
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Piglets Adventure Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing