We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate food; adequate service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Ranked #381 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Adequate food; adequate service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not much to recommend this place other than it's convenient location and pleasant dining area. We were a little on the early side of dinner and they were not busy, but the gentleman at the bar seemed reluctant to take our order. Service was slow and our waitress was polite but cool. Food was ok but not memorable. I wouldn't go out of my way to return here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie32159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    7
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As I stated in the title, both the food and the service was excellent. I went for the mixed grill, my wife the Hunters Chicken, my Father the Steak & Ale Pie and my Mother the Gammon. Each of us thought the meal was delicious and the portions were huge. The beer was kept well, a nice pint. I heartily recommend a visit when you come to York!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PritchDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dissapointing staff, pricey food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

When I went to the bar to order my food, I was received by the most unfriendly staff in my entire life. It was like if I were disturbing him! (it was 8pm, not 11!!) But the worst part was he looked like the manager of the place and his hygiene was not in a high standard. It was really dissapointing being eating food served by a "smelly" waiter. The food was not bad, to be fair, but it was not worthy the whole experience at all. You can get the same food for less money in other places. It's a pity because the place is in a really nice area close to the garden museum! I would never recommend this place at all to anybody.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful exterior, disappointing inside, food okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very impressive and beautiful building, promised a lovely interior, but pretty ordinary inside. Looked very clean and toilets immaculate. Food okay, lunch menu, usual pub grub, standard fare, nothing to prompt return visit. Staff efficient, though not particularly welcoming or friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissHoney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We've been to this restaurant on a few occasions, however after being pretty new to Trip Advisor never posted a report about it before.
Its definitely worth a visit, the bar areas is lovely and clean and the staff very friendly.
The prices pretty much bar standard.
Worth a visit, meals nicely presented and they don't scrimp on portion sizes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millyannpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing