We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite Garden in the whole of the UK”

Breezy Knees Gardens
Ranked #26 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 20 acres of extensive gardens featuring over 7,000 different varieties of flowers, shrubs and trees. One of the largest gardens in Northern England if woodland and parkland are excluded.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“My favourite Garden in the whole of the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I visit here with my family at least 3 times a year and every time it gets better. Saturday's visit was just amazing. Beautifully designed and planted, and immaculately kept. The plants are all really healthy and well cared for with great labelling. An astounding place - can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing garden with lovely borders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The place is very typical english garden, the water feature was lovely. There could be more seats and that way you could sit and enjoy the plants/flowers much better. Near the pond it was very tranquil, but a lack of seats means you cannot stop and enjoy...plenty of scope for more and the plants for sale are lovely and very reasonably priced. The coffee shop is nice to sit and chill out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria23Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This Yorkshire Garden should not be missed!-a Great Asset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Breezy Knees garden gets better every year that we visit. Yesterday the sunshine was brilliant & so each 'specialized' garden was like a picture-postcard!The plants,shrubs& trees were immaculate-not a weed to be seen!The Long borders were a riot of colour & particularly impressive.
There were several new additions since our last visit e.g--Circular plant arches in the September garden;a beautiful wooden entrance to one garden;more benches for resting & enabling you to enjoy the scenery.The most spectacular was the White rose fountain with its 'dancing water'!
The shade garden with its pond & surrounding plants was a peaceful haven on such a hot day.
We met many garden-enthusiasts there who all confirmed that it was one of the best gardens they'd visited & like us they were taking many photographs to try & 'copy' at home in their own gardens!
After such a truly enjoyable afternoon what could be better than tasty refreshments in the cafe and a browse in the well-stocked nursery (both very reasonably priced).
This garden should not be missed!--excellent value & fully recommended! Well done to you all, you are are a great asset to Yorkshire!-Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 'janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Nursery despite the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were staying on a campsite where we picked up a leaflet for Breezy Knees. We were near Warthill and visited the nursery on our last morning. It was raining so we didn't tour the gardens. We did however discover lots of rare perennials and variants of some of the better known plants. They were very competitively priced too. Too many garden centres offer the same old same old and often they can be pricey too. Breezy knees is different! If you are in the area and you love gardening then this place is a hidden treasure. We will definitely return when we are next in North Yorkshire. There is no fee to the nursery but there is a charge for the gardens

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great garden experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Considering they have been created out of a field in the middle if nowhere these gardens are a revelation of the unexpected but possible creation of those with vision and imagination. A great experience on a sunny day. They spread over several acres with a variety of different themes with a vast number of contrasting planting and well kept. As they say the secret us in the soil and the bark. The motion detecting water feature is a pleasant surprise. A credit to the gardeners. The only disappointment is the lacklustre cafe which despite having more than adequate staff to cope with more than one customer at a time. They should send the manager down to Deans in Stockton to see how to do it properly but to be frank its a side show to the main event. One other thing the many gates throughout the garden are difficult to open and their function difficult to understand. Just shoot the rabbits as actually they have a duty to do under the law.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breezy Knees Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Breezy Knees Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing