We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seahorse Hotel York

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seahorse Hotel York
Ranked #92 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

With regards to the previous comment 15th Nov. We stayed the same time, rooms were dated but were spotless. The breakfast was great and it was the landlady and landlord doing it all week and as I'm a veggy and forgot to tell them they bent over backwards to accomodate me. So no problems staying there again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank austgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    49
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Bathroom toilet wanted a good clean, didn't even want to get in the horrible shower. The bedroom is dull and needs a update. Looked like the sheets hadn't been cleaned as there was pubic hairs found.
Landlady didn't want to do breakfast for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unluckygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the seahorse for a stag do, hiring most of the rooms in the hotel. A few brief points from our weekend:

+'s
The hotel has its own car park around the back which seems very secure.
The hotel is above a pub which is ideal for a few pre town drinks.
The owners were helpful and friendly.
Rooms are what you pay for
Close to town, and other amenities

-'s
Small bathroom
Pub / rooms need a facelift.
Rooms slightly dusty

Overall we were very happy. The low price was great and we didn't expect much. So a few negatives didn't spoil our stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Have stayed here several times in the past and was expecting the same service. Unfortunately whilst we were there ( only one night then we moved to different hotel ) it was really cold and had to ask for heating for room. It came on at ten PM. Breakfast was a disaster; asked for poached eggs, answer - cant do those, boiled eggs? Can't do them either. But we can do scrambled. Had to do with powdered eggs on toast, enough to put me off eggs for life. On the up side the staff and management were very polite and the beer was really cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Where to start....

Rooms dirty.....beds without a valance......something splashed up the side of the base of the bed..
Grey towels.....they were more like hand towels.....glad I took my own!
Breakfast....cups .....mmmmm....I've got cleaner plant pots!......fresh orange juice that I gulped and nearly spat out.....not sure what it was.....certainly not fresh orange juice......full English....not cooked.....tinned mushrooms.....oil slick all over the plate......ewwww.....I had to push it away.....ok fruit and fibre cannot fail......so I thought.....milk terrible......not sure what's happening with the place?

Would not return.....would not recommend to anyone!

Sorry about the bad review but people need to know what they are booking into.....and the owners need to have a good clean and decorate.....could be a lovely place with a bit of t.l.c...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askam in furness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We found the sea horse ideal for our racing trip,nothing was too much trouble to mike and jan,excellent breakfast,good bar meals all cooked to order. Good location for all attractions,good clean rooms ,power shower(cubicle just a tad small) no tv's in rooms or bar ,(soap addicts beware),onsite car park. We have rebooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. Don't think I would stay again, rooms quite small and it did not have a TV which I found rather strange.
Very small bath towels which just about covered and I am petite.....and the shower was the smallest I have ever seen and I just about managed to get in. The shower door at the bottom didn't look like it had been cleaned for quite some time.
Breakfast was good if you like things just about cooked (I prefer mine well done and didn't get chance to ask before the breakfast was brought out) the toast was rock hard so I could hardly eat it.
On the plus side we did not hear any noise from any other guests......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkshipleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#38 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose & Crown
Rose & Crown
#27 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.3 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#39 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Hotel York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Hotel York

Property: Seahorse Hotel York
Address: 4 Fawcett Street, York YO10 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing