We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent base for visiting York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gillygate Guest House
Ranked #61 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was our first visit to Gillygate Guest House although we have visited York several times.The accomodation was of a very good standard the room was clean & spacious, breakfast was excellent & you wanted for nothing as Joyce & Mark could not do enough to ensure our stay was just right. GGH was ideal for exploring York with York Minster being a 2 minute walk away & all other sites & facilities were in easy walking distance.We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

York is a beautiful and charming town, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit there in December. The Gillygate Guesthouse contributed to this experience.

We wanted to stay at one of the many B&Bs in York and were glad that the Gillygate had an opening for two nights during the holiday period. The guesthouse is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the train station, or a GBP 5 cab ride (it rained when we left). It is also very convenient to York's main sights, including, of course, the impressive Minster.

So why are we torn about the rating? Well, our hosts extended a very warm welcome to us, gave us good advice, and in particular served an excellent breakfast in the classy dining room. We also liked our room facing the road. Initially we were a bit concerned about traffic noise, but in the end it did not bother us at all, as the windows were well insulated. The room was a bit quaint, with a queen-size bed an a couch (both on the softer side), a large armoire, and a dresser. The bathroom area and sink in front of it were functional. What truly bothered us was the lighting in the room. It was just way too dark in the room to do any major reading or using the mirror above the sink for shaving etc (keep in mind that England in December is not too bright). All of the room's light fixtures need improvement.

If the owners--who are such excellent hosts--address this lighting issue, this B&B can truly be a little gem in a very charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

First stay at Gillygate Guest House. Joyce and Mark were very helpfull and accommodating. Got there early on our first day and we were able to drop our car off. Car park is is small and restricted but with Mark's assistance this wasn't a problem. GGH was approx. 2 mins walk from York Minster and 15 mins from the Castle Museum. Very clean and well presented with a nice choice for breakfast. Great cheese shop across the road plus a couple of nice eateries (Ambience and Cafe No. 8 in particular). We will use again on our next stopover.

Room Tip: Phone through to secure car parking and ensure Mark is there to negotiate car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was my second stay and it was just as good as my first.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in York then look no further.
Joyce and Mark cannot do enough for you to make your stay great.
The rooms are really nice and clean, the breakfast is great.
The location is perfect being just a few minutes walk from Minster and shops.
It is in Gillygate which has some lovely shops and cafe's.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I was doing a program at York St.John university. Gillygate is ideally located and it was a very enjoyable experience. The hosts, Mark and Joyce were very helpful in ensuring that I had the best York experience during my stay. Clean and fresh rooms, great breakfast and the attention to tiny details all ensured that I had a great time. It is close to all attractions and an absolute value for money along with a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManojDivakaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Gillygate guest house is in a excellent location, just a moments walk from the city walls with off street parking.Mark and Joyce are such lovely and very accommodating hosts. The guest house rooms where of a very high standard, very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was exceptional with the option of a later breakfast time at the weekend,nice touch! I would highly recommend this guest house. The only surprise was the price it was far to cheap. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My room is very clean and cosy! The bed is really comfort, and the breakfast is fab! Generally, the guest house is centrally  located in York, so I had enjoyable walks around the city. The host, Joyce is so warm and helpful~

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhiyingZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#45 of 194 in York
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 194 in York
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillygate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillygate Guest House

Address: 43 Gillygate, York YO31 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £76 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished, high quality, boutique style accommodation offering locally sourced breakfast, next to the city walls and within 5 minute walk of the Minster and city centre. Luxury rooms all en-suite. Free private parking and WIFI throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gillygate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing