We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gillygate Guest House
Ranked #61 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at the Gillygate Guest House. Booked the Deluxe double room (room 5) which had a lovely large bed, nice large double shower, settee, armchair and dressing table - my only 'quibbles' would be there wasn't a mirror near to a plug socket to plug my straighteners in! and being a Yorkshire softy it would have been nice to have a radiator in the shower room!
Breakfast is very good, plenty of choice - you order the evening before. No problem and there is an option to have breakfast late at 09.45am. Which to us was a fabulous option. Lovely relaxing breakfast room. Will definately be going back!
Location is great, 10-15 minute walk from the railway station and only a 5 minute walk to the Minster. Lots of pubs and restaurants also near by.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OxygenHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and it was a lovely stay. The B&B is in a very good location being only 15 minutes walk from the train station and 2 minutes walk from the Minster. I had booked a deluxe double room which was very nice. Large bed with settee and a big shower in the bathroom. It was very comfortable and breakfast had a good choice and it was excellent.

Room Tip: As it is on a main road, try to get a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

From arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was bright and airy and very clean. The guest house is right in York City so we could walk everywhere. Parking at the rear was small but sufficient for us to leave the car for the whole stay. Breakfast was great and plenty of choice. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nandm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rooms vary in size but Hosts are very truthful about different sizes Everything you need in your room for a more than enjoyable stay breakfast excellent with plenty of choice Free wifi & parking central location you don't need your car once you arrive you couldn't get better hosts than Joyce & Mark Nothing is too much trouble Will be going back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamick999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from spending a night at Gillygate Guest House. Great central location, lovely spacious rooms, fabulous breakfast with a great choice. Mark and Joyce are great hosts, nothing it too much trouble. Will be most definitely returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lullabelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just spent a night at this Guest House and found it comfortable and clean. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It is ideally situated about 3 mins from the Minster and the heart of the city. Breakfast was lovely both my husband and I decided to have the Smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs and the coffee was excellent too.
My only criticism was the lack of a dressing table in the room. It was difficult to style my hair as there was no socket near a mirror. There was a settee which was nice but would have preferred a dressing table. However the room and bed was comfortable but the bathroom was very small had to come out of it to get dried. All in all we would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a one night stay recently. Location was perfect being just a stones throw from the minster and some nice reclommended places to eat and Mark was a tremendously helpful and polite host. We booked a nice clean double room at the front of the house on the first floor which was tastefully presented and more than adequate. Lovely breakfast with plenty choice and we were able to leave the car parked while we had a few more hours in the city. Would have no hesitation in recommending or booking again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#44 of 194 in York
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#11 of 194 in York
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillygate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillygate Guest House

Address: 43 Gillygate, York YO31 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished, high quality, boutique style accommodation offering locally sourced breakfast, next to the city walls and within 5 minute walk of the Minster and city centre. Luxury rooms all en-suite. Free private parking and WIFI throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gillygate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing