We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Crumbs Cupcakery

Crumbs Cupcakery
Ranked #1 of 24 Dessert in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$2
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Crumbs Cupcakery is an independant cupcake shop and tea room located right behind the magnificent York Minster. We bake all of our cakes fresh every day and have around 10-12 different flavours daily! We also have gluten free cupcakes every day too! Come and say hello and relax in our beautifully decorated vintage inspired tea room in a secret little haven area of York!
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having seen the reviews on here, I thought we had to visit this place on our recent visit to York.

It's a bit out of the way, a 5 min walk from the Shambles, but it is brilliant. Set in a very chic cafe setting, with plenty of sitting outside, you could see how popular it was with the locals. We had 4 cupcakes to go, not cheap at £1.70 each, but they were delicious.

Yes it's only cupcakes, but they are probably the best you will ever find. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addictedtofood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    66
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Magic cup cakes in a superb environment”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This lovely little tea/cake shop overlooks the Minster and sells the best cup cakes ever!! It's only small but a beautiful environment to have a nice cup of tea and a cake!! Enjoy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wild1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“amazing amazing amazing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited here in may with hubbie after reading reviews, we were not dissapointed at all. Quaint little cafe, nice decor with a lovely touch of different cups and saucers, we loved the variety of cupcakes and were amazed at hoe light and airy they tasted, also a good selection to try there and then or take away. Loved this place and the girls serving were very friendly and made you feel welcome, will be back again if we ever visit York.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markiemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little crumb of heaven”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

If you like cupcakes & on the day special cakes and lovely smiley personality from the stuff and good tea range to choose from this is the place.
Popped in to kill some time and was very pleased did so.
I had a chai tea and the chocolate crumble cake and was so surprised how reasonable price was under £4.00 and cake could easily be for 2.
Tea is all served in China teacups with the wonderful view of the York Minster and outside seating to.
Very chilled and relax.
I will be popping in more with friends when visiting the city.

Helpful?
Thank Jasper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes in a charming setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

You will find the best cupcakes in York here, but go early as they may sell out. If so, check out their mobile wagon by the Minster.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crumbs Cupcakery also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Crumbs Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing