We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab apartment in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saint George's Keep
Ranked #17 of 57 Speciality Lodging in York
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Fairfax apartment for the weekend and weren't disappointed. From the welcome hamper to the robes and slippers we were happy, plus the late check out which was great since our train home wasn't until the evening. York is a beautiful city and staying at st George's keep has made it easier for me to say we will definitely be back!!! My only complaint would be that there was no toiletaries in the bathroom and was only one toilet roll which ran out quickly with 4 guests. These are minor things so don't want to detract from how great this apartment was. Fab!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgk2014, Owner at Saint George's Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you, glad you had a lovely time. Apologies regarding the toiletries
And extra toilet rolls, this was an oversight on our part.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great time staying at Saint Georges Keep apartment over Easter, great location ,clean, tastefully decorated,comfortable & the welcome pack was a great touch with Easter eggs for the kids ,the kids loved the table tennis table in the basement too. York is a great city to explore and enjoy. On departure we could leave our luggage in the apartment so we could still enjoy our last day. Less than a 15 min walk to the station so you don't have to bring the car and get ripped off by the car parking charges ! I would recommend these apartments and im a bit fussy where i stay.It is a bit noisy at night but it is to be accepted given the central city location don t let this put you off staying in these lovely apartments.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgk2014, Manager at Saint George's Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for 3 nights as a base to discover York, the Dales, Moors and the coast. The apartments are in a central location a few minutes walk to the city centre, pubs, cafe's, restaurants, shops and the river. They are only a 5 minute walk to long and short term parking, at 11.50 pounds per day.
The major problem staying here was the noise as it is on a busy road and opposite a fire station !! So getting some sleep was a major problem as there was no double glazing and I put pillows and blankets up against the windows and wore earplugs to try and lock out the noise. There is stairs and lift to the upper floors and also a very strange smell in these areas.

We were in a 2nd floor, 2 bedroom apartment at the front of the building, which was very hot as it had no air conditioning and we could not open the windows at night due to the noise.
The unit was basic and clean and the bedrooms were small, the beds were comfortable.
The bathroom was small but clean and basic toiletries were supplied.
The kitchen was well equipped and a breakfast welcome pack was supplied, the sitting area was also basic with TV and sofa.
We found out on the day we left there was a washing machine in the basement which was not mentioned in the information file.
Checking in to get your apartment key is also quite difficult, other had the same problem.
Free Wi Fi is also available.
These apartments are in a good location but not worth the lack of sleep to stay here due to the noise.

Room Tip: Very noisy apartments due to busy road and opposite the Fire Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la123_12, Owner at Saint George's Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear of your problem with noise, we do have double glazing and have since insulated all the vents with special acoustic insulation to narrow the noise, we also have heavy curtain linings and curtains. We are city centre, so unfortunately if you are not used to abit of noise, you may think it is noisy. However, most of our guests do not even mention the noise.

With regards, to the Fire Station, they are moving premises shortly, but I would just like to say that it is very unlikely that they put the sirens on, at a late hour.

Due to our good old british weather, air conditioning is not normally necessary, last year, was a very hot year, and we have now bought some oscillating fans, in case this year will be just as nice, fingers crossed!

We have also changed the checking in system, which has proved easier to use.

Again, thank you for your review, and you will see we have made some improvements, we do value your opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed over a long weekend and the apartment was perfect. Very clean, comfortable and well furnished. A welcome pack was a lovely surprise. We were able to get in early and leave luggage for a later departure which was very helpful. Would recommend these apartments and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

These apartments truly are a home from home, dressing gowns, slipper and welcome hamper and the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in for a while! It has a great central location with only a 15 minute walk from the train station. The apartment was fresh and modern, it can be a wee bit noisy in the evening but as previous people had said, this is to be expected given the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tebays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

These are really nice, modern clean apartments in a great city centre location. Walking to shops bars and restaurants within minutes. Very well appointed with lovely touches such as dressing gowns and slippers, welcome pack tea, coffee, wine and chocks! Some noice at night due to central location but to be expected.
Parking on nearest car park The Castle pricey at £25 for 24 hours....... Take the train!
Very nice, well thought out accomodation I would definitely return, without car!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicehotels4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Very clean, well equipped apartment, in a great location. Welcome basket was great. The dressing gowns and slippers were a really nice touch.
There was quite a bit of noise outside late on the Saturday night, but it wasn't a big issue and the great location compensated for the slight inconvenience of this.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George's Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George's Keep

Address: St. Georges Keep 23 Clifford Street, York YO1 9RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £122 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering accomodation in the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint George's Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing