We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“York and the Poplar House Apartments are at the top of our favorite places we visited.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“York and the Poplar House Apartments are at the top of our favorite places we visited.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were truly amazed when we walked into our apartment. Large, sunny rooms. Great kitchen, living room and bath. Kitchen included coffee, tea, eggs, bread, butter, preserves, milk, and a bag of ice in the freezer. Within easy walking distance to the town of York which includes numerous pubs and excellent restaurants. Shaun (owner) will pick up his visitors from the train station if requested in advance. Beautiful landscaped yard with a bowling green 2 doors down the street. York served as a Roman provincial capital in A.D. 71 and capital of the Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Northumbria after the fall of Rome. Henry VIII used the city's cathedral (called Minster which is an Anglo-Saxon term) as northern headquarters of his Anglican Church. The Minster has more original medieval glass than rest of England's churches combined. Some artifacts in the Minster date to A.D. 39. We attended the Evensong at the Minster where the Dean of the cathedral greeted everyone and the male choir along with the organist produced phenomenal music in candlelight. Day before we left the UK I read in the paper that the Dean of the Minster will become the first female bishop in the Anglican Church. Hope to return to York in this lifetime!

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms--all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forest01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Poplar House during the festival of angels. Shaun was extremely helpful with prompt communication from the initial enquiry, booking and even a day before we arrived. He was very attentative upon arrival and the brochure we received prior to arrival was full of information and advice on our stay in York which was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and if we needed anything he was only too happy to help. The apartment was fantastic and furnished to a very high standard. The complimentary provisions were really well recieved and again Shaun asked us if we needed anything else to let him know. Having taken our 4 year old with us he made us all feel very special and welcome, taking the stress out of our visit! Would recommend this establishment to anyone wishing to visit York as it serves the city tremendously well. 10/10

Room Tip: 100% recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Clean and spacious apartment with great amenities plus complimentary eggs, muffins and milk. Warmest welcome from the owner who is extremely handy throughout our stay. Our stay in York could not have been better. Ten thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meliyanni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Apartment with plenty of space and room to move. Kitchen well equipped and the muffins, butter and jam etc. supplies came in very handy. Conveniently located to explore the centre of York. 10 minutes gets you you to the outer wall and another 10 mins to the heart of the old town. Shaun and his family were very welcoming. Free wifi was great and we enjoyed seeing the locals play bowls and croquet in the fields next door. Having a washing machine was great and there was a hanging frame to dry clothes on. We stayed in Unit 2 with our adult son who was provided a good quality folding bed that he placed in the lounge at night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight stay at these apartments, I have to say they are excellent. 2 x1 bedroom apartments fully serviced with everything you need from the complimentary breakfast muffins, eggs, milk, tea, coffee etc. A great welcome from the proprietor Shaun who was very helpful and friendly. The apartment we stayed in was exceptionally clean and is in a superb location for York and all it has to offer. A very enjoyable stay and we hope to return next year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Poplar House for 2 nights on may bank holiday. The apartment was spotlessly and beautifully furnished. All the rooms were a good size and well layed out. The apartment is very well located 10 min walk from the train station. There was even eggs muffins milk tea coffee and jam for breafast in the kitchen, nice touch. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We will defiantly stay there again and can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Shortly after booking we received an e mail from Shaun with an information booklet attached. What a good idea. We found this really helpful.
On arrival the welcome pack of muffins, eggs,milk,butter and preserves is a lovely touch and adds to the" home from home" feel of the apartments.You have everything you need and the décor is clean and fresh. Lilian met us at the door and was helpful and informative and for the rest of our stay we felt that although the Clarks were on hand should we need anything we were left to enjoy our stay without intrusion.
We are a middle aged couple and I have mild mobility problems but I found the walk into York was easy, about 10 minutes, all flat ground, and you are there. We visited the York Dungeons, York Castle Museum, York Minster, the Railway Museum and the Yorkshire Museum and spent hours meandering round the shops in the centre of York, all on foot - we left the car at the apartment all the time.
Although we ate out during our stay (I can recommend Yorvik Spice Indian restaurant/takeaway) two minutes walk away), the kitchen is well equipped and you could easily cook as you would at home.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Poplar House to anyone wanting to stay in York and we will definitely be staying there again!! Thank you Shaun and Lilian!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar House Serviced Apartments

Property: Poplar House Serviced Apartments
Address: 64 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Poplar House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW, NEW, NEW **** EXCLUSIVE, INDEPENDENT, HIGH-QUALITY, FULLY_SERVICED SELF_CATERING FLATS / SERVICED / APARTMENTS **** NEW, NEW, NEW **** Close-by the city-wall's and just a short 10/15 minute walk to York city-centre and Minster, Poplar House Apartments are situated in an inner-city conservation area with private parking. Each of the individual, self-contained and private first floor apartments have been immaculately and tastefully furnished. **** Each apartment consists of a large and airy double or family-configured bedroom (with garden views and a king-double or multi single-bed options), that are suitable for 2 adults and 2 free-stay children to 16 years (Note: Cot's available), or 3 (2 + 1) adults, a full-sized bathroom with individual shower, a large reception-hall, a fully equipped multi white-goods kitchen, and a large and comfortable integrated lounge and dining area with fireplaces. **** Crucially, for inner-York visitors, Poplar House has its own private off-road, front-of-house, and secure on-site multi-spot (free) parking for all its residents. Perfectly situated for city visitors the serviced apartments are also conveniently just a 8-10 minute stroll to York Railway Station (and the nearby internationally acclaimed 'National Railway Museum'), as well as the big new York sight-seeing 'Eye' / 'Wheel', about the same distance to York Racecourse and Grandstand on the Knavesmire, and in the other direction towards York City-centre itself. **** TERMS AND CONDITIONS: 2 ADULTS and up to 2 free CHILDREN (to 16 years of age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Poplar House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing