We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe - about to move location”
Review of Bruks Coffee Shop

Bruks Coffee Shop
Ranked #8 of 46 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Yes we are back..... We are now Situated right in the centre of York on one of York's oldest snickleways this new cafe resides in a grade 2 listed Victorian building. Still selling all of your favourite dishes .... Sandwiches ,Paninis ,jacket potatoes ,and our famous free range locally sourced breakfasts including Bubble and Squeak & Black Pudding all made freshly to order. Cream scone , teacakes , & cake of the day .... Also a wide selection of hot & cold beverages. Offering you a warm family friendly service, please come and say hi to Jo and all the staff in our new premises.
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cafe - about to move location”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is one of the best little cafes in York. Great value for money, super friendly staff and delicious food. I had one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in a café. .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    42
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DERBYSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hidden little cafe treasure!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We found this by accident when on the way for breakfast in the department store nearby. I cannot praise it enough!
You can locate it by entering the Marks&Spencers homeware department opposite The Yorvik Centre go through the top exit, turn left and you are there!
The service was prompt and food freshly cooked and also served quite quickly. The food was delicious, neither under or over cooked just perfect. For two full breakfasts and drinks, £14 total but well worth it!
Would highly recommend this, but can only comment on the breakfast as we didn't try anything else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back to Bruks!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just been out of the UK for a year, and coming back the first place I had to go in York was back to Bruks for a proper full-English!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-Jane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tortillas to Die For”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just finishing my latte as I write! Good portions, friendly service & the best tortilla crisps I'm sure I've ever had!! Only 6 of them but that's what a side serving is!
Only down side is that my wife's pot of tea has just produced it's 3rd cup & so we'll spend the rest of the afternoon hopping between toilets....!

Helpful?
Thank Kroy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely friendly little cafe”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The staff are brilliant, so helpful and friendly, they chat with you like they've know you for years. It's just a lovely place to be and the food is delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x_sarah25_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bruks Coffee Shop also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bruks Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing