We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Lawrance York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lawrance York
Ranked #13 of 58 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Fantastic little find near the centre of York. My gf and I both remarked 'why would you ever want to stay in a hotel again'! We stayed in Apt 9, a small apartment set on 2 floors, we walked into an open plan living area and nice appointed kitchen, up the wooden stairs to a (small) but nicely finished bathroom with a lovely 2 person shower. The bedroom was large with a very comfy bed and we had everything one could need for a lovely stay. It was also spotlessly clean!

Could not recommend The Lawrance highly enough; the amount of space, high end fittings and comfort afforded by apartment far outweighs the moderate premium to stay in a hotel or B&B. If we were to go again we'd probably take our own food to prepare in the apartment - it was that nice!! Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Just book an apartment and you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricosuarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Lawrance is a collection of Luxury Apartments, which more than lives up to its name!
Expensive, yes. But worth every penny!

We went in December 2012 - three couples (including one heavily pregnant lady!) looking for some Xmas shopping in one of Britain's most beautiful cities (York). Why stay in a boring hotel or creepy B&B though? Why not splash out and stay at some 'luxury apartments'?
And we were all glad we did!

Situated a short walk from the main centre of York, our apartment was maintained and furnished to the highest standards - and there were plenty of Xmas decorations around to give the place a really homely vibe!
The kitchen was clean, well equipped and so much better than relying on takeaways and restaurants - the chance to cook and eat in comfort was a refreshing change from staying at a hotel!
The bedrooms were very roomy - plenty of space for a weekend's worth of stuff (at least one suitcase per person) and each bedroom had a en-suite bathroom. The view from our bedrooms was particularly beautiful given the time of year and the fact that the York Eye was lit up and clearly visible.
There was also a living room with sofas, flat-screen TV and stereo - because sometimes you just want to chill out when you're away, right?
Overall, I found that The Lawrance was well justified in the use of 'Luxury Apartments' and was a welcome break away from the norm. Sure it wasn't cheap, but split between six people, the value for money was far greater than you could have expected from a Hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband whisked me away for a one night break and found a romantic little self-catering apartment (in fact, it was a little house), in The Lawrance in York. The development is a converted industrial building, like a little mews, off Mickelgate in central York. You access it through the Lawrance cafe, and then reception is behind the cafe. The apartment itself (Apartment 8) was fantastic - it was effectively a little house with a reasonable size living/dining room downstairs, a very well-equipped kitchen, and upstairs a nice bathroom (big bath with good shower over) and a large double bedroom. The style of the property was quite New England-esque - looks of stripped wood, and grey-ish wood walls. Very beautiful and very well-equipped. Free wifi access, and the kitchen certainly was set up with everything one would need. My only slight quibble was that there did not seem to a hairdryer.

The property is in a central, going-out area of York: Mickelgate. When we went out, there seemed to be stag and hen parties everywhere! However, as The Lawrance is set back from the street, in its own little development, the street noise does not affect you. The only noise we heard was some neighbours coming home at about 5am! It is a very well situated property indeed - near the going out areas, but also within easy walking distance of the walls at Mickelgate, the Minister, The Jorvik centre, and The Shambles.

Fantastic location, fantastic apartment and at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

My other top tip is to follow the suggestion in The Lawrance info guide, and book a restaurant if you fancy dinner in central York on the weekend. We didn't, and found it very hard to get in anywhere - even going for dinner early!

Room Tip: Apartment 8 was fantastic and was effectively a little house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed for a romantic night away & we were over the moon with the beautiful apartment we were given.

We stayed in apartment 10 & I was surprised as I had assumed apartment meant a flat style layout (ie open plan all one floor) but our 'apartment' was in fact more like a little house accross two floors. The apartment was immaculately clean, with stunning modern furnishings, and all the essentials you could need (iron, Hairdryer, Dishwasher, Ipod Dock, cutlery/pots, coffee & milk !!!)

The apartments are in the perfect location - ladies I managed to walk from the apartment to various bars & a restaurant and back again in heels... its right within walking distance of everything you need! There's pubs/bars/clubs/cafes/shops all within walking distance but in the same respect we didn't hear any noise disturbance from the nearby clubs overnight.

The courtyard outside the apartments was peaceful & felt nice and secure when we returned late at night.

The reception staff were friendly & helpful.

There wasnt one thing we didnt like about this place, we are only sorry we didnt find it sooner !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HarveyBoyd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella Maris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agent0050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne W, Manager at The Lawrance York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank koukai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance York

Address: 74 Micklegate, York YO1 6LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £88 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance York 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Luxury Apartments consisting of Studios, 1 Bedroom Apartment, 2 Bedroom,Penthouse and 3 Bedroom apartments. Complete with modern Kitchen, Comfy seating, spacious bedrooms and all the essentials that you need for a home from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lawrance York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing