We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in York”
Review of The Lawrance York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawrance York
Ranked #11 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As someone who spends far too much time in hotels for work, I try to find something a bit more homely when travelling for pleasure - and the Lawrance hit the spot perfectly.
The apartments are beautifully designed and having the kitchen dining area was really great.

A great deal of time and money has clearly been spent in designing the whole site which also adds to making this a special place to stay.

The location is also excellent, although this does mean that you need to park in the NCP around the the corner (discounted for Lawrence guests).

And finally, the staff were just great.

I really can't recommend this place enough and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent standard of accommodation in a great spot. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Apartments were in a modern, secure block with good access for unloading bags from car. Good system for access outside normal hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed two mid-week nights in one of the ground- floor apartments and thought it was really very, very good. Short stroll into historic centre of city, multi storey car park a few minutes away to dump the car, and with the apartments being in a lane set off the main Micklegate thoroughfare, no late night noise issues. The living area was a generous size, kitchen area very well equipped with everything needed if self- catering. The bedroom was slightly on the small side with limited hanging space - but the bathroom was huge and the shower vast and luxurious - which more than made up for it. For the same price as we would have paid for a hotel room - well, no contest, if returning to York I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Fantastic luxury apartment within the city walls and minutes from all attractions. Spacious accommodation - amazingly well equipped kitchen and the most comfortable (and huge) beds. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was immaculately well maintained. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshrugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

3 couples in apartment 14 for a birthday celebration. It was perfect. Modern and traditional perfectly mixed. High quality everything and perfectly placed within 5 minutes walk of all the. Bars, shops and attractions. The service was excellent and the beds, linen and towels were the best. The only point we would raise was the lack of a mirror for the ladies to do hair and makeup in all of bedrooms. It wouldn't be expensive to put that right. Would definitely stay again. Well done!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank clitheroekid91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Apartment we stayed in was number 9, as requested on the booking so that was a bonus. Well we were not dissapointed. The two level apartment was all that the photos said it was. The beauty of having ability to stay in and cook after 4 weeks of eating out on the trip was lovely. All the items for cooking up a gourmet meal was there.
A couple of design faults in the bathroom (re the door opening and no toilet roll holder) did not diminish the overall beauty of the apartment.
Location just the other side of all the shopping was a bonus as it was quiet with its own range of restaurants and pubs to visit nearby (If you cannot find a pub or cafe that is to your taste in York then you are extremely fussy).
Staff were helpful with only downside being the parking which for us was a hassle although quickly sorted out by the staff. This did not dampen the stay and I would reccommend it as a top place to stay for a little luxurious apartment style accommodation.

Room Tip: Apartment 9 was great but think number 8, the other one bed, look ok too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneJanet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here just for the one night as a surprise for the wife. Brilliant location, beautiful rooms & excellent facilities. We just had the one bedroom apartment which was stunning & I'm sure the two bedroom would be great for a small family. Staff were great, when I saw them as never needed to as al went brilliantly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceface1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance York

Address: 74 Micklegate, York YO1 6LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £92 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance York 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Luxury Apartments consisting of Studios, 1 Bedroom Apartment, 2 Bedroom,Penthouse and 3 Bedroom apartments. Complete with modern Kitchen, Comfy seating, spacious bedrooms and all the essentials that you need for a home from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawrance York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing