We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous apartments in character filled buildings”
Review of The Lawrance York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lawrance York
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous apartments in character filled buildings”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

These superb apartments are only a year old, and are located in the heart of York. They are a leisurely walk to all of the major tourist attractions and are the perfect base for visitors. They include full kitchen facilities, plus a washer/dryer making them ideal for short or long stays.
They are an easy 5 minute walk from York station, (even with suitcases in tow!) just follow the directions given, they may look confusing,but in reality are easy to follow.
A lot of thought has gone into the apartments and other facilities, security is excellent, and the large, secure luggage storage area, is a winner.
Now for the minor quibbles Although these apartments are advertised as serviced, they actually aren’t. This didn’t worry us, but if you are expecting towels to be replaced, bins emptied , beds made on a daily basis, this doesn’t happen. Another minor quibble would be the website. Vital information, such as Reception opening hours can only be found if you look at the Youtube video in the Gallery section of the site. It would not be difficult to make this sort of information easily available on the website.That said, if you email The Lawrance with any queries you will receive a super prompt reply. Customer service was excellent. A couple of reviews have mentioned noise from nearby nightspots. Some of the apartments back onto a laneway which is sometimes used as a throroughfare to a number of nearby nightclubs. If you were staying in one of the apartments directly backing onto this lane, you may hear some noise. We were staying in an Apartment closer to Reception and didn’t hear any noise, except for a (very) distant thump of nightclub music on one evening.

For the price we paid, the Lawrance was absolutely outstanding value, and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    45
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
181
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with friends whilst visiting York for a friends wedding

Stunning apartments easy to find , easy to get in even when the reception is closed

They give great instructions to find and get in ,codes for gates etc and keys left in security box

Very nicely decorated in great proportions for a weekend away

Would defo return very happy with stay

Apparently dog friendly as we'll

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goody1million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were looking for good quality accommodation for 6 people in York for a long weekend and found this place on the web. What a find! Absolutely top quality with 3 double bedrooms each with an en suite and TV. The whole place is furnished to a great standard with automatic lighting and very good security. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Also very placed so you can walk everywhere. Would certainly go back again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finchmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We required a room for the night with a bit of space and comfort for a family visit to York. This apart-hotel was a fantastic choice. The features were excellent, automatic lighting, great temperature controls, very good security and most hospitable reception staff (0900 to 1800). We entertained ourselves well using the facilities of the kitchen/dining room - a nice touch being coffee, tea & real milk already available. Would most certainly recommend this if you want something different to a hotel and want to be in your own world! Parking is available around the back of the apartments on Tanner Row (NCP), only a three minute walk away. Getting your parking ticket stamped at reception was supposed to save us 44% off the parking, but when it came to pay it didn't take the discount off. Oh well - didn't spoil an otherwise excellent venue, right in the centre of York. At less than the cost per person for 6 of a travel lodge equivalent this is a no-brainer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 14 which had a double room on each of three levels and all of us slept soundl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

just stayed here for 2nights with my husband,we stayed in apartment 8 and it was stunning!! every room was spotless,kitchen has everything you need and more. rooms were very spacious. the bed was so big and comfy.the staff are very friendly and its within walking distance of all the things york has to offer. the only fault(if you can call it that) was i thought the downstairs area was alittle nippy even with the heating on.upstairs was lovely and warm and made up for it though.so all in all a wonderful wkend in a wonderful apartment.very highly recommended and hopefully be back to visit again

Room Tip: apartment 8 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifid1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in an apartment as we usually stay in a hotel. I could not recommend this highly enough. We had a 2 bed roomed apartment and the accommodation is stunning, everything was fresh felt new and was spotless. The kitchen had everything a dishwasher, washing machine and a great cooker. The apartment gives you the freedom to eat in occasionally and having the additional living quarters (kitchen and sitting room) means that you can relax a bit more as in a hotel you are a bit limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of these apartments for two night stay in York, the fixtures and fittings are of good quality and the bed we had was lush. The apartment was roomy and had everything we needed. We had a good reception from the office staff at the back of the cafe who informed us of any local knoledge we required. All the above was spotlessly clean. Made a refreshing change to stay at an apartment rather than some of the tired hotels for the same price. When we stayed it was very hot but the air conditioning was fantastic just the job. Location you really could not ask for better, inside the city walls with everything within walking distance attactions pubs clubs and eateries. I highly recomend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKim101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance York

Property: The Lawrance York
Address: 74 Micklegate, York YO1 6LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance York 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Luxury Apartments consisting of Studios, 1 Bedroom Apartment, 2 Bedroom,Penthouse and 3 Bedroom apartments. Complete with modern Kitchen, Comfy seating, spacious bedrooms and all the essentials that you need for a home from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lawrance York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing