We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Regency Restaurant

Regency Restaurant
Ranked #405 of 874 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a lovely meal here - it was just a shame we had to run off as wanted to go on a Ghost walk! Could've stayed there all night eating! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank piginawig1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    15
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic dim sum”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Always fancied dim sum cos of the recommendations of my favourite food critic giles coren. Was guided through complicated menu by the very helpful shona. Had chicken feet, prawn and scallop and then fried mixed meat and seafood dim sums with a small bottle of peroni. With a 30 % discount as it was 3pm on a tuesday it came to £ 9.10. Excellent place would definitely come back again but as this is my first visit to yorkin 47 years then on a average I wont be back til im 94......

Helpful?
Thank littledes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“phew!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Buffet is not really a buffet in the true sense....more like 'order all you want and see if you can manage it'. Massive dishes - too much to eat everything presented. Would have preferred lots of smaller samples. Quality was really good and very reasonably priced. Service was excellent but 25 mins. between finishing the starter/getting the new round of hot, clean plates and finally getting the main was rather excessive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ate here before going to the ?Barbican theatre last night as it is literally up the road. The food was delicious and I can honestly say the best Chinese food I have ever tastied. We opted for the £14.99 all you can eat menu. This isn't the buffet kind where they are left in containers to keep warm but you actually order anything or as much as you want from a full menu and it is cooked fresh and brought to the table. I had Peking Dumplings, soup spare ribs duck and curry and I could not fault a thing. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanobardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The food is good but the service is a bit slow and when I asked for a receipt it took forever to arrive

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason-at-303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regency Restaurant also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Regency Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing