We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #158 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed for only one night but would definitely stay again. The host Angie is very welcoming and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed in room 4 which was clean, comfortable and quiet. We arrived by motorbike and were in need of a hot shower and there was plenty of hot water. The breakfast the following morning was excellent. The house is not far from the city centre about a ten minute walk. There is also parking at the rear.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in early April. The owners, who only took over 4 weeks ago are lovely and very eager to please.
We did have a few gripes though. It wasn't very clean. The carpet in the room didnt look like it had been hoovered and there was used tissue in the bin in the bathroom which isn't very nice!
The room itself was a good size with a comfy enough bed although you could hear everything going on in the B&B - including very loud talking in the hallway outside first thing in the morning which was a bit annoying.
I do think these these are mainly teething issues though and will be sorted with experience

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a fab weekend in York and No.71 was the icing on the cake!
Recently taken over the property is gradually being updated very tastefully.
The breakfast was amazing! The new owners were very welcoming & very happy to help with advice on the local area.
Very good value for money, clean & comfortable & within a very pleasant 10 minute walk from the city centre.
I will definitely stay here when visiting York again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We decided to visit York for the Easter weekend and left the arrangements very late due to the recent bad weather. We found that everywhere in York was fully booked but fortunately thanks to a cancellation we were able to stay at No 71 B&B. Lovely clean room and great breakfast and friendly service all within 10 mins walking distance to the centre of York.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank simonheathcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here recently when catching up with friends. It had literally just been taken over that week by new owners who were lovely and keen for feedback. The B&B is being revamped and the new parts are very nice, the older rooms do need updating but are still comfortable, clean and perfectly reasonable for the price. The breakfast was very good too. You can easily walk into the center within 10-15 minutes and it's very nice to walk along the river instead of the main road. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

great b&b. very good breakfast .really good friendly staff. centrally located just 10 mins walk to the center shops bars restraints barbican 3 mins we went to see ami mac donald there fab then over to the loop bar fab night we also got free parking at the b&b the owner was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank BelgianUSlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.1 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
6.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 71 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 71 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 71 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — No 71 Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are singles, triples and doubles; four poster room, all en-suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing