We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious rip off”
Review of Filmore & Union

Filmore & Union
Ranked #325 of 879 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretentious rip off”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Must have got the staff on a bad day judging by other posts, pair of smug adolescents serving today, egg cup of liquorice flavoured latte and £3.20 for porridge. I'm sticking to Costa at the station in future

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tasty and healthy food”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Simple and uncluttered menu with very friendly, welcoming staff. We had great service from our waitress and the chef came over to help explain items on the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Love this Filmore and Union. The location excellent . I usually arrive early for my train so I can visit. I have had a few quick snacks and fresh pressed drinks here. Never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly suprised.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

my train to London was delayed unexpectedly I decided to go further afield to get some food & came across this store tucked away under the stairs. I had no idea of what they sold but was really impressed by the staff member who served me. Charlee explained about the use of natural ingredients in there food & made the complicated menu board easy to understand. Overall it was a pleasant delay.

Helpful?
Thank Kil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food with good choice of gluten free”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped off here while we waited for our train home. We had intended to visit the restaurant in the city during our stay but we didn't get around to it. However, remembering that there was a good option on gluten free we thought we'd give it a go.

Although it's right on the platform area it's surprisingly bright, clean and welcoming. The staff knew their menu very well and were great at offering alternatives to items that were not available (it was near the end of the day and as the food is fresh there's not stacks of it sitting around being kept warm) 2 of us had bagels and they were freshly prepared and delicious, excellent smoked salmon, fresh spinach, salted beef, gerkins - lovely. One of us had the tagine of the day, hot, fresh, totally home made and full of flavour - not words usually attributed to gluten free offerings. The broccoli and mint soup was also delicious. Although more expensive than we would usually choose it was well worth it for choice (especially g/f), portion size, freshness, great friendly service and nice clean environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filmore & Union also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Stamford Bridge, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Filmore & Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing