We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great free introduction to York”

White Rose York Free Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stepping through the streets of York is like taking a tour through all of England’s history. On our 3 hour free walking tour you will see the sights and hear the stories of this fascinating city. Tours leave every day at 11am and 3pm (3pm tours in Summer only) and also at 1pm Fridays and Saturdays from near the West entrance of York Minster, opposite Cafe Concerto. Just look for our guides in the blue White Rose York tee-shirts.
Essex
Level Contributor
251 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great free introduction to York”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A free 3 hour guided tour seemed too good to true but it was said at the off that at the we could pay whatever we thought it was worth - in money, beer or hugs!

It was a really interesting and informative tour and we were happy to be generous at the end because our guide was well worth it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    33
    9
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic potted history of York in 3 days”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Alan welcomed us on the tour and then proceeded to share his knowledge of York and English history with the group in an entertaining and engaging manner. The three hour tour was perfectly timed and included a short break for lunch at a small café that sold delicious home- made pies.
Thoroughly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank beancounteronelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Three hours tour with a very nice guide that knows loads of history of York. They also offer a tour in Spanish on weekends at 11:00. A good way to see the city!

Helpful?
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Three Hours”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We met Alan outside the west door of The Minster. We thought we might be the only people on his tour but eventually, we were 6 plus Alan. He is a first rate tour guide. We could hear every word, his knowledge was top notch, his humour was infectious.

Alan gave us the history of the city from earliest times, told us about the Romans, Vikings, etc, etc, and, of course, chocolate. We never tired of listening and he took us on a route that gave us a really good overview of the city as well as into areas we would never have found if on our own. We stopped at a small pie shop/cafe about half way round which was most welcome. And the pies were delicious!

At the start of the tour, Alan stressed that it was free of charge but, if we wanted to give him some money, some beer or just a cuddle at the end, then the choice was ours.
Hugely entertaining and informative!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrewiltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our guide was the knowledgeable Alan who made 3 hours fly by with a funny and informative narration. Thoroughly recommend that this tour is the first thing you do in York.

Helpful?
Thank 3forlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Rose York Free Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to White Rose York Free Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing