We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere.”

Banyan Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #75 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A stylish and genuine bar serving beautiful food and drink all day long
Rochdale
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this bar as a group having just been to the races. The company we were with had booked a mezzanine area just for us which was great.
The ambience was good and the staff were great.
We didn't eat there but it is somewhere I would visit again next time we are in York.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcInspirations, General Manager at Banyan Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear LoubylouRochdale

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review. The gallery is certainly a popular area for larger parties and we are delighted you enjoyed your surroundings and the service of our team. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Lee Snowdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    109
    47
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
“Great food, friends and manager”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have never experienced such a charismatic front of house manager. After asking advice on the cocktails Matt let us smell one of the spirits and explained what it would taste like. Providing a very good insight into what I would soon be drinking. Music choice was up to date and a calm relaxed atmosphere was provided. Will definitely return. Many thanks

Helpful?
Thank Harrietanne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcInspirations, General Manager at Banyan Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Harrietanne19

Thank you for your kind words! Matt certainly knows how to look after his guests and he's very happy you have left such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We're also delighted that every other part of your experience was great too, thank you once again,


Lee Snowdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Brilliant service.
Great offers and deals - daytime and evening.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Nice atmosphere.
Great choice of food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KC252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcInspirations, General Manager at Banyan Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear KC252014

Thank you for the taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor; we're very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lee Snowdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Popped in for a welcome break from shopping. The Greek salad was simply delicious. The building is full of character and the staff are attentive and friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdoc269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcInspirations, General Manager at Banyan Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, we are really grateful to hear you enjoyed your meal and your surroundings with us at Banyan. I have passed your comments on to our team as they always appreciate feedback regarding their service. We hope to see you again in the near future at Banyan York.

Lee Snowdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Dined here for lunch today and had checked a few menus before choosing here as this one seemed to have a great variety. Lunch menu sees some of the dishes off the main menu at a discounted price, but it is only a handful, however, this may change as other people have mentioned other deals. Food was plentiful and delicious, all of my party were happy and after having starters we could not fit desert in. Service was excellent. Will defo return, despite the huge choice there is in York.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcInspirations, General Manager at Banyan Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in trying to deliver the very best service, standards and product quality. We're very pleased to hear that you felt our lunch menu represented good value and you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Lee Snowdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banyan Bar & Kitchen also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Banyan Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing