We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite cafe in York”
Review of Brew and Brownie

Brew and Brownie
Ranked #3 of 46 Coffee & Tea in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: !
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My favourite cafe in York”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are keeping going to this place because is just perfect!
Lovely food....pancakes are the best ever tasted....and the staff is 10/10 always smiling and welcoming!!!! great place...see you again soon!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aniramary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    140
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coffee beats any of the big names”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Coffee was truly excellent. Loved the style of the place and brownie was yummy. Service friendly and when you taste the coffee you won't mind the slightly longer wait.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited here purely on Trip Advisor reviews and not disappointed. On our first visit we sampled the sharing platter for two which arrived with a tasty array of fresh produce - the pork pie was Delish! Lovely selection of cold meats, cheeses and breads along with relish and piccalilli and we washed it down with a very nice cappucino. The second visit we sampled the breakfast and opted for the bacon sarnies and tea. The best bacon sarnie we've had in ages - thick freshly cut bread and stuffed full of succulent bacon. Feel like I've missed out though as I still need to sample the legendary pancake stack - intend to go for an early breakfast tomorrow before we head home so I can try them. May not be the cheapest cake/coffee/brunch place in York but it's certainly one of the better places we've eaten in, and when you look at the bog standard fayre that's on offer at the other eateries in York, this one is worth paying that little but more for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCatLady2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury treat”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place was recommended to me and being a cake and tea lover thought it was worth a try. I wasn't disappointed and the tea and mars bar brownie I had was delicious. It may not be the cheapest tea and cake but it's worth it as a treat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but lovely food so worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Loved the food in this place, if you can get a seat as it is very busy - a good sign ;)

Had 3 cheese and Leak toastie which was delicious and a fresh apple juice, my friend had the homemade soup which was also delicious.

The homemade cakes looked amazing and great selection and the scones to die for.

Well worth a visit but not cheap......but then you get what you pay for.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brew and Brownie also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brew and Brownie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing