We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantactic apartment, fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with comfortable sofas, balcony and 40' Smart TV with wireless keyboard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with comfortable sofas, balcony and 40' Smart TV with wireless keyboard.
Secluded courtyard with seating and views of The Minster Corner window with Minster Views and swivel chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Lounge with comfortable sofas, balcony and 40' Smart TV with wireless keyboard.
Secluded courtyard with seating and views of The Minster
Corner window with Minster Views and swivel chair
Secluded courtyard with seating and views of The Minster
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Lounge/Dining room
Master bedroom with kingsize bed, juliette balcony and large ensuite shower room.
Master bedroom with kingsize bed, juliette balcony and large ensuite shower room.
Ensuite shower room
Large Second Bedroom with double  bed and sunny balcony!
House Bathroom
Kitchen - well equipped with essentials like olive oil, dishwasher tablets etc supplied
Dining Room
Luxuries Provided!
Relax!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
jonathonr...
glasgow
1 review
“Fantactic apartment, fantastic location”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I took my mum for a short break to York in Aug 2015 - first time in York. We had a really lovely time. The apartment was beautiful - a real home-from-home, and it was also very spacious.
The location of the apartment could not possibly be better, just round the corner from the Minster and very close to the city centre and all the local attractions.
Catherine left a bottle of prosecco and some good quality biscuits / crisps and some milk, which were all very welcome indeed.
Overall, 10 out of 10 for this accomdation, and I would definitely love to return to York and if returning, my first choice would definitely be this apartment. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious apartment / location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a beautiful apartment, great view, great location and a delightful owner.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandrafel...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant apartment”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just had a wonderful stay at this beautiful apartment that is really central. The attention to detail makes it even more special and Catherine was really helpful with the booking. My mum,sisters and daughter had a lovely time and we would definitely recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squiz
Nr. Chester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I really can't rate Stonegate Retreat highly enough - it was absolutely perfect. Situated within York City walls on Blake Street (a stones throw from Bettys famous tearooms) is a secure doorway which will whisk you away to peace and quiet. It's definitely a retreat, the perfect place to enjoy all that York has to offer but also offer you the peace and tranquility you need on a break away.

My husband and I stayed here 31st Jan - 2nd Feb and had a wonderful two nights. The apartment is beautifully presented and had everything (and more) we could have wished for. We met Catherine, the property owner, who had been so lovely and helpful throughout the booking process and because she organised parking for us a little further out of the city she very kindly picked us up and dropped us off at the apartment.

We couldn't believe just how peaceful the apartment area (Stonegate Court) was and had fabulous views of York Minster.

The apartment was huge and is certainly large enough for the 4 people it sleeps. All the rooms are very large and immaculate. What we also loved was the fact the main bedroom had thick curtains which keep the early morning light out. The Minster bells were beautiful to listen to on Sunday morning and I went and enjoyed them on our balcony too.

It was so lovely to be able to stroll out of the apartment straight onto the bustling streets of York but then 'retreat' back to the apartment. It really is the perfect place to stay in York and next time we have a child-free break we will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stonegate Retreat is in a great central location, close to York Minster, & although you can only stop briefly outside to pack/unpack during certain hours a parking permit is supplied. The apartment is very well maintained & equipped, the beds (including the sofa bed) are very comfortable & the showers are great. Catherine was very helpful both when booking & upon arrival, kindly letting us arrive early & leave late. The welcome pack was indeed very welcome too! Will certainly recommend & hope to return ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The distance between the entrance & the apartment for carrying bags!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonP365
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stonegate Retreat is a fabulous apartment right in the heart of York, about 100 yards from York Minster and about the same to Betty's Tea Rooms!
It is a little oasis of calm above the busy streets of York, with fine views of the Minster. The apartment is really well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. It is remarkably quiet given its location, so a good night's sleep is pretty much guaranteed.
It is well equipped with a modern kitchen and a comfortable lounge.
We would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing