We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away in York”
Review of Rustique Lendal

Rustique Lendal
Ranked #41 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Night away in York”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Don't walk past this restaurant and miss it! This is a charming French restaurant which can easily be walked past. However, go inside and enjoy the warm welcoming atmosphere and an excellent meal for a very sensible price. My scallops followed by Boeuf Bourguignon were excellent. This is the second time we have eaten at this restaurant while staying in York and I hope it will not be the last.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    229
    56
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a fantastic meal tonight. Food and service first class, Will definitely return next time we are in York and will recommend to others visiting York.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isobel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rustique- Lendal Street”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal on Saturday night, so much so that we booked again for the following night. Portions were large, service was excellent and definitely value for money- two courses £12.95. We were asked if we would like the same table on Sunday evening and agreed but when we returned another member of staff had already seated diners there. Although we were not really bothered the staff were very apologetic and presented us with complementary brandies at the end of our meal. We couldn't fault anything and will definitely return on our next visit to York.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venicelover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monday night family get together”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmostphere and very attentive staff. Set menu is fab value and plenty of food on plates.Veg/ salad is extra but there was plenty without.All our party thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses .Will be returning!!!!

Helpful?
Thank spikenwanyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“French cuisine "et pas cher"”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Outstanding value for money 2 or 3 course set menus with a good selection of dishes. There is also a A La Carte selection.
Busy, bustling and book early is the advice.
We were only two and managed with a little patter to blag an early evening table at the very last minute.
The energy to have you sat, fed and out the door is ever present but at the amazing price they need 'bum's on the seats' so if you like quick service you'll adore Rustique.
The decor is French Cafe/bistro and comfortable. Tightly packed tables give the restaurant a buzz typical of Paris.
The food was large in portion and well presented. As it's our first visit I reserve the rating as Very Good, I will return to try the food again, probably choosing a less busy time and maybe to visit the sister Rustique, York.
Recommend you try it whether you are on a budget or not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KThewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustique Lendal also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Rustique Lendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing