We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fangfoss Caravan Park

Fangfoss Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fangfoss Caravan Park
Ranked #42 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from our third week this year at Fangfoss Park, this time without the children! We had a hard-standing pitch, by choice, but grass pitches were available. Had a tree behind us for shade when warm. It was very peaceful, and even in the school holidays it was a very relaxed atmosphere. The site is small and well maintained.

We had time to explore the smaller villages and pubs in the surrounding area as advised by the owners. Another great week. Returning again in the half term so children can meet up with the friends they met in the summer hols.
Small shop at reception with milk, bread and sweets. toilet and shower block was always clean, but basic. I seperate building provided hot water, sinks wash and dry facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have had a seasonal pitch at Fangfoss for 9 years now, and cannot recommend it enough. Such a shame that some poor reviews, that all seem to come from the same person, made it onto here!
My 3 children have almost 'grown up' there, it is very safe for them to play,and they look forward to fridays when we set off, to see their mates.
Owners are very helpful, toilets are cleaned regularly, and a small utility building with sinks, washer and dryer is always useful for longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stopped at Fang Foss caravan park for five days after been recommended to stay there by a friend. we arrived slightly late due to car trouble, but as soon as we arrived the owners made us very welcome, asked if we needed any milk or bread etc, even though it was really late at night, they then showed us to our pitch, they could not had been more helpful,

We had a great stay with plenty of long local walks in the fabulous countryside, and a few trips into York, we also popped to the village festival which was on whist we were their, which is worth going too.

Facilities on site were fine, clean throughout with plenty of hot water, even when busy. The playground was great and our two young children had a fantastic time and they made lots of friends.

We had a really great stay, and hope to get back for a couple of days before the end of the season

5 STAR

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

For £22.50 a night I expect clean toilets, or is that too much to ask for!!!! The owner ( lady ) isn't very nice when anything goes wrong she says if u dnt like it u can leave, now that isn't very nice, this is the 2nd time we have stayed because it's a relaxed park and some nice walks for dogs but toilets stink vile ( women's ) they are filthy. If they gave them a good clean and if she had better manners then yeah I'd go again but dnt think either will change :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bro1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked into Fangfoss on Wednesday 28th Aug 2013. The lady at reception took full payments for 4 nights with electric hook up, pointed us in the direction of our pitch and no more was said. At 08.30 on Thursday morning the electric went off. We went to reception to ask when the problem would be resolved. The lady who owns the site told us the electric would be off until approx 4/5 pm that day. When we asked why we hadn't been informed of this the previous day when checking in (and paying in full for 4 nights WITH electric) we were told we could have £2 back or pack up and go. We were flabbergasted at the attitude of this women. Personally I would have been happy to pack up there and then and go to another site, but as there were a group of us, with 2 more groups due to join us on the friday, we stayed put. Surely we should have been told about the electric been off all day when we checked in. We then would not have gone to the supermarket and stocked up our fridge and freezers. A few days later my young daughter went into the shop to buy some sweets. She very briefly picked up a chupa chups lolly (in wrapper) but placed it back after deciding to buy something else. The owner/lady told her as she had touched it she had to buy it!!. I can guess that, as there a quite a few sited tourers, the owner isn't too fussed about 'passing' caravanners. I also agree with the other review, the toilet/shower block is very grotty and the site very crammed. If you expect the slightest decency and manners from the site owners, Fangfoss is not for you. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This caravan site could be so nice but it appears to have lost its way somewhere.The pitches are small,the toilets and showers look like they havent had a good clean all season,and there was no rules for late night noise and im talking midnight.The site is in a lovely area and based round an old rail station which could be so nice,but sadly all looked neglegted.I was very dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidayaddict75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#56 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fangfoss Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fangfoss Caravan Park

Property: Fangfoss Caravan Park
Address: York YO41 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing