We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Tranquility near York”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince Rupert House
Ranked #115 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility near York”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently stayed for 3 nights at this B&B and can't praise it enough. Julia the host was so welcoming and her cooked breakfast is 2nd to none. Fantastic location, within 15 minutes of York and and hour to Whitby. Apart from the fabulous house which is full of history and charm, the location was perfect, just close enough to visit the local area, but hidden deep in the countryside. The peace and quiet meant I really felt away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and I slept like a log. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Peaceful, tranquil and very beautiful. This house is a slice of Victorian history. You step back in time when you walk through the fabulous front door... it's so idyllic, I didn't want to leave and re-join the 21st century!

A fabulous ambiance, restful nights in a comfortable bed and a fantastic breakfast delivered by the very lovely Julia, who is a wealth of local knowledge. All this and a stones-throw from York and Harrogate. If you're into the splendour of nature, this is the place to be. We ambled around the Red House Estate to which this house is attached and discovered a wealth of wonders. I found the mysterious tiny seventeenth-century chapel particularly engaging as it is untouched by the modern world and the history envelops you...

A stay here is perfect if you want quiet bliss. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiselaMaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a lovely stay in this B & B near York. It is set in a delightful location at an equestrian centre. Julia is an excellent host and a wonderful cook - we had a very good breakfast. Would highly recommend if you are planning on visiting Yorl or Harrogate as would make an ideal base.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough. Prince Rupert House is in the grounds of The Red House Estate and formed part of the newer buildings of Red House School (before it closed in 2004). Set in the beautiful Vale of York, easy access to York, Harrogate and surrounding countryside. We were welcomed and made to feel at home from the second we arrived. The room was immaculate. Will definitely be going back and have recommended it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms are all a decent size for purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaBirchnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#158 of 193 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thistledown House B&B
Thistledown House B&B
#1 of 2 in Green Hammerton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Rupert House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert House

Property: Prince Rupert House
Address: Red House Estate | Moor Monkton, York YO26 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Rupert House provides guests with a unique opportunity to stay within the grounds of a country estate steeped in history. We have three en suite guest bedrooms (two double and one containing both a double and single bed). There is an additional room one with a separate bathroom in a private wing on the ground floor (subject to limited availability), all decorated to a high standard and have flat screen TV with DVD and tea/coffee making facilities with guests having access to free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing